Gorgonzola and Wild Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I made this for dinner tonight along with some steamed broccoli. The broccoli was a nice contrast. I omitted the white wine since I didn't have any on hand, and used a mix of wild rice and 5 other types with some homemade dark brown chicken stock. Mushrooms used were portabellas, morels, and some dried mushrooms (bought in bulk and I no longer remember the type). Took longer to cook because of the brown and wild rice, but we enjoyed it! I'd like to try this again with a nice venison roast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Served this at an Easter brunch and everyone raved about it - I added oyster mushrooms and a pack of dried/reconstituted wild mushrooms, sun-dried tomatoes in oil and fresh chopped rosemary. I didn't put in the cream, but it wasn't needed as it was creamy with the gorgonzola. Delicious and I'll definitely make it again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I bought a tray of wild mushrooms from BJs, cremini, oyster and shitake, and I wanted a recipe that would highlight them. This did the job. I gave the recipe 5 stars because I think its a good one, but I think that I just don't enjoy risotto as much as I thought I did. For my own personal taste, I would give it about 3.5 - 4 stars -- don't think I will make again because I am too lazy! Also, the leftovers were kind of gloppy and not so appetizing. Again, not the fault of the recipe, just maybe I am not a risotto girl...I bought "Truffle and porcini infused oil" which was the closest thing I could find to "truffle oil" and I did not taste anything unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Very good, even with an ingredient or two missing/substituted. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
FYI You can find the (tough-to-find) truffle oil at TJ Maxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I could not find the dried mushrooms or truffle oil,so I made it with portabello mushrooms instead. It was still delicious! I can't wait to try it again with all of the correct ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Great recipe. I used what I had around the house so I will share my changes. No truffle oil (wish I would have) and no dried chanterelles. Instead I used portabellas. No gorgonzola cheese or cream but instead goat cheese. I also had some basil I had to use up, which added great flavor. It sounds like a lot of changes but really they are just near substitutions. Oh yeah, if you use homemade chicken stock like I did, make sure you have added enough salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
fantastic! I didn't have anything but white mushrooms but it did just fine , the truffle oil makes it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I love making risotto and do it rather regularly. I found the combination of flavors here to be exquisite. I was expecting the cheese to pack a more powerful punch but it balanced very nicely with the mushrooms. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States