Gorgonzola and Wild Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
this was great! we made a few changes: fresh chanterelles (1 cup), no cream, and double the gorgonzola. We used black truffle oil instead of white. Served with cabernet sauvignon, crusty bread and a salad, this was a gourmet meal. For the lazy cooks out there like me, 12 oz. of arborio rice is 1.5 cups, and one quart of stock is 4 cups. Next time I will add a bit more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
FYI You can find the (tough-to-find) truffle oil at TJ Maxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was tasty, but I think that next time I will use all fresh mushrooms - the dried chantarelles overwhelmed the dish for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is very good but I prefer the gourmet mushroom risotto recipe on this site also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Fantastic flavor--the gorgonzola (I used blue cheese since I had it around) adds a subtle delicacy to it. Very fancy tasting. Any sorts of mushrooms could work with it. I used locally grown oyster, crimini and shiitakes, fresh. Added a bit of fresh rosemary with the cheese and skipped the cream. Would probably use the cream in colder months, but in summer it seems too heavy. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Great recipe. I used what I had around the house so I will share my changes. No truffle oil (wish I would have) and no dried chanterelles. Instead I used portabellas. No gorgonzola cheese or cream but instead goat cheese. I also had some basil I had to use up, which added great flavor. It sounds like a lot of changes but really they are just near substitutions. Oh yeah, if you use homemade chicken stock like I did, make sure you have added enough salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is truly delicious! The combination of flavors is amazing!!! Five Star!! I did not have truffle oil, so instead I used a little bit of olive oil and more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was very good. i subbed in .5 oz of dried Chanterelles and .5 oz of dried porcinis. and instead of fresh white buttons i used fresh brown mushrooms i think they were Crimini mushrooms. I agree with the other reviewer that fresh mushrooms would improve the taste. But it was delicious and got great reviews from my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I love making risotto and do it rather regularly. I found the combination of flavors here to be exquisite. I was expecting the cheese to pack a more powerful punch but it balanced very nicely with the mushrooms. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I loved this recipe. I followed it exactly. It is time consuming, but so worth it. I chose this one because it didn't require any white wine. Thanks for sharing. This tasted almost exact to some risotto I had at a Napa restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States