Gorgonzola and Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I am a huge believer in making recipes according to your own tastes, so when I made this, I knew exactly what to do. First I cooked 6 slices of bacon and left the bacon fat in the pan. I then cooked the pork in the bacon fat. When the chops were done, I spooned out extra fat for my roasted potatoes that I was cooking that night. I put in the mixture 2 fuji apples, bleu cheese, and the crumbled bacon in the pan I had deglazed with white cooking wine. Wine, bacon fat, cheese, apples, YUM! I also added a splash of balsamic and let it cook down. Because my "stuffing" was too loose to stuff, I just served it on top. This is a GREAT recipe to make your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Really good. I made this with some simple yukon gold mashed potatoes (added butter, sage, thyme and garlic). The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was incredible!! So easy, fast and delicious! I used some of the suggestions from other reviewers and simple used the apple gorgonzola mixture as a topping, since my pork chops were already on the thin side. I used 1.5 honeycrisp apples and added about 1 tsp of brown sugar to the apples as they sauteed. I served this with acorn squash and wild rice. The apple gorgonzola mixture was excellent mixed in with the rice and squash too! This will be added to our regular rotation throughout the fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGBrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
After reading other reviews I followed suit with decreasing the amount of cheese, used 4oz, adding brown sugar and baking the chops. Think it still needs less cheese but I'll definately be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is great! I've made it twice already and we love it. It's easty to make and its a dish that looks like you've been preparing it for hours. I give it five stars mostly because its easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This dish is really good and unique. I would have never thought that the combo of apples and Gorgonzola would work so well. The chops are pretty plain, so I always jazz them up, but the sauce is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Foothill Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This could be 5 stars, but I needed to doctor the sauce a bit. I added 1/4 cup of half n half and some black pepper (white would work too) to the sauce. The black pepper went in while the apples were sauteing and the half n half went in after the cheese started to melt. Served this with collard greens and focaccia bread. great to sop up the sauce w/ the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Simply amazing...and incredibly easy...but it tastes like I slaved all day! My 5 and 9 year old girls love it as does my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
That was delicious! I served it with steamed, buttery asparagus on the side. A very hearty, rich meal. I did, however, cut the gorgonzola substantially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikki Welter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Made this recipe for company. Was beyond delicious!!! The sauce was also excellent to put over rice pilaf, which I served alongside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States