Gorgonzola Stuffed Chicken Breasts Wrapped in Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
The first time I made this, I had to agree with Mis7Up. The shallot is overpowering and the garlic flavor was too pungent. The second time, I overcame that problem by sauteeing the minced shallot in 1 tsp butter, until everything was evenly caramelized, adding the garlic and sauteeing for another minute. That did the trick! The role of both of those ingredients in the stuffing was that of a subtle, yet masterful supporting player, not prima donnas competing vainly for the limelight. I then deglazed the roasting pan with 2 Tb dry Marsala (reduced vigorously a few minutes until the vapors ceased to tingle the nose,) poured it over the chicken and POW! The flavor was absolutely spectacular. Because of those two steps, which represented a big improvement, this only narrowly misses the 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great recipe! Made it tonight and everyone loved it! I stuck to the recipe except I used green onions instead of shallots. Next time I plan to make an extra heaping of the gorganzola mixture and melt it for extra sauce, which is the hit of this dish. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mksonya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made this last night for dinner guests. It was very good. I made the slices on the top thick part of the breast and stuffed it. It looked very nice on the plate because you could see the stuffing and the bacon was wrapped around it. Also, none of the stuffing fell out. I did have to broil after cooking to crisp up the bacon a bit. I will definitely cut back on shallots next time as they seemed to dominate. I wish I had read the review that deglazed with the marsala before I made the dish. I think that would have added a good finishing flavor. Definitely a keeper recipe though. Looks like more effort than it really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Do precook the bacon to about half-done (still flexible) before wrapping chicken, or wrap with bacon, sear in pan, and finish on cookie sheet. Do pre-saute the aromatics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
i used feta cheese (instead of gorgonzola), spinach (instead of parsley) and turkey bacon and cooked it in an indoor grill. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Quick and easy to prepare. Mine didn't look at all like the picture....definitely could have used more of the mixture in my opinion( I would double it) The best advice I could give would be to not be afraid to stretch out the bacon when wrapping and to try making it on a roasting pan since the bottom of the breasts never "crisped up"....and I used a convection oven. Next time I may bake for thirty minutes and then try finishing on the grill ! Very Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by visualjohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is unfortunate - sounds great but not worth the work. If you decide to make this, wrap the bacon around the chicken in a filet mignon style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used feta instead of blue cheese because that's what I like. I cooked the onions and garlic before adding it to the cheese. I also pan seared the chicken after it came out of the oven to crisp it up. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Well, this was just excellent. Thanks Laurrie, ya out did your self on this one. Hubby loved it, other then it was a bit to much on the onion/shallot flavor for him...he doesn't care to much for onions, but I knew that going in. But he ate it all gone. And said it was a man's meat lovers meal. We loved the fact of the bacon infusing with the chicken and taking in that rich Wright Brand Applewood Smoked Bacon. I bought the nice thick premium bacon. And the chicken was tender. I did make up enough to fill 3 chicken breasts and I put a sear on the bacon when I removed it from the oven, on the parts that didn't get crispy all the way. I will make this again for sure, just knock hubby's down a notch on the shallots. My kids even in enjoyed what samples I was passing out. And wanted more...But darn there wasn't enough to go around to them. ;-) Thanks for the additional help Laurrie on the taters for the side. Hugs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I was wondering what to do with what I had on hand and found yet another recipe from Witchy that was an instant hit! I made one change....I had marinated the chicken in Italian dressing thinking I was just going to grill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States