Gorgonzola Stuffed Chicken Breasts Wrapped in Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Fabulous recipe and SO easy! I used green onions instead of shallots needed to keep it in the oven for an hour. 35 minutes wasn't nearly enough! All-in-all it was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmadsen3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
'Substituted' onion for shallot and basil for the parsley. Used all melted cheese and some chicken & bacon fat for a cheese sauce, which went well with an asparagus. side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nivekian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was excellent and easy to prepare. Many reviewers mentioned issues with the bacon not cooking well. I followed the recipe exactly, and discovered a trick that is much simpler than pre-cooking the bacon. After the recommended 35min baking time, switch the oven to broil, and allow the bacon to crisp for about 15 additional minutes. The bacon was perfect, and the chicken was still moist. Some people complained that the Gorgonzola was too strong, but what stood out a little too much to me was the parsley. I thought the cheese wasn't nearly as strong as I would have expected, and the parsley was a little overwhelming. Next time, I think I would cut the parsley in half. In general, if people don't like gorgonzola or blue cheese, this dish probably isn't for you, but I'm wondering if substituting cream cheese would give just as good of a dish without a pungent flavor. I would definitely make this dish again, but in order to make it a 5 star recipe, I would definitely lower the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
It was a delicious recipe but next time I make I will wrap the chicken with the bacon then sear it to the chicken in a hot pan on the stove top first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was outstanding. I personally do not like gorgonzola so for myself I used feta and fresh spinach My husband loves gorgonzola and I made it that way he enjoyed it as well. I would increase the cheese and parsley or spinach so it would help make a little more sauce and
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
thought this would be my new fav but guess not. I followed the recipe though precooked the bacon a little as others suggested and that is a good idea. The cooking time was just right for my chicken but I found the shallots way too strong for the cheese. I will make it again and use green onions with blue cheese for a better balance of taste. I cooked it on a rack in a shallow pan and used the convection oven for the entire cooking time. Overall this has great potential, just needs a little help (imho).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Delicious, and easy. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
The base of this recipe is good, but it does need a lot of adjustment, so I only gave 3 stars. I've made it both exactly to the recipe, and with some changes, and I think the changes make it a 5-star recipe. Here's what I did to make it better: Sautee the bacon a couple minutes before wrapping it around the chicken. Also, use the bacon fat that was rendered to sautee the garlic and shallot. Season the chicken breast thoroughly (I used seasoned salt and pepper) before wrapping in bacon. I didn't stuff with straight gorgonzola, I used a mixture of 1/2 gorgonzola and 1/2 cream cheese for a milder taste. Be sure to season the cheese mixture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Coventry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
i made a few changes and the outcome was SO delicious i could have died. nixed the shallot completely and substituted feta (because that's what i had). also added cut up apples, which i microwaved first so they were soft. threw in some oregano to the stuffing mix and made sure that i rubbed the chicken with salt and olive oil before throwing in the oven. added the grease from the half-cooked bacon on top of everything, covered up with tin foil, let cook for a solid 1-1.5 hours and what came out was the most delicious thing my boyfriend and i have ever eaten!! would highly suggest eating it with spinach/sauteed onion/parmesan orzo and a good glass of wine. to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Santos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States