Gorgonzola Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I already make a gorgonzola salad that I prefer. Try a spring mix or red leaf lettuce with red onion, gogonzola cheese, walnuts, balsamic vinegrate dressing and cherry tomatoes (optional). We usually make this when we have guests because it's easy and we always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This was an excellent salad. The changes I made: used approximately 2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar, increased garlic to 5 cloves (our family loves garlic), and chose to use romaine lettuce. This was a huge hit at the dinner table. Usually my family is not asking for seconds on salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige B
Home Town: Coshocton, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Too salty!! Half the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
When I first mixed the ingrediants, I was not impressed with the flavor. But after adding it to the salad greens and topping it with the gorgonzola cheese.. umm. It taste very similiar to the salad served by an upscale italian restaurant my husband and I frequently visit. I, like others, added more garlic and extra vinegar and reduced the salt to 3/4 teaspoon. The only change I would have made is to maybe throw a few black olives on top. Maybe I will try that next time. Note: I have made this many times so for a variation, I used the Balsamic Vinegar dressing as someone else suggested. I like it much better with the dressing the recipe calls for. The Gorgonzola cheese does not taste as good with the Balsamic Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Chadwick
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Love this dressing!! Alot of garlic (a good thing) and the good "bite" of gorgonzola. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Salty & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This is only really good if you like gorgonzola and don't mind the smell. I added more veggies to mine, it looked bland with just lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was good. made the dressing ahead of time, it's very similar to the dressing I usually make. I used canola oil rather than olive oil, doubled the red wine vinegar and added about a tsp of minced onion and a tsp of sugar and used just a pinch of salt. This was a perfect pairing with filet mignon and roasted baby red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
Holy cow is this good. I let the dressing sit in the fridge overnight. I also put a few sundried tomatoes on top (not packed in oil... these were from a farmers market). This has a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGOKIDD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I made a variation of this salad, using balsamic vinegar, garlic, olive oil, no salt, and mixed greens. It is wonderful! The leftover dressing (either in your salad bowl, or reserved from the recipe) makes good dipping for a firm bread such as sourdough or chewey "artisan" breads you see in stores these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States