Gorgonzola Pear Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I loved this! I'm a big fan of anything involving cheese, so it was a pretty sure bet. Still, I was pleased that it was so good. Even my husband, who really doesn't like Gorgonzola, tried it, and he said it wasn't bad. Next time, I'm going to use some softer, juicier pears. I also used pecans instead of walnuts, since I don't like walnuts. Anyway, overall it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Loved this recipe, easy, tasty and even reheated the pears added a nice tang to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Fantastic! My changes: Doubled the recipe. I sauteed the pear cubes in 2 Tbl butter with a couple dashes of nutmeg and cinnamon. When the pears are almost done, I add the walnuts so they get the yummy cinnamon-nutmeg/butter taste. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. Very good and plenty for my family of four and two BIG lunches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
EASY,ELEGANT AND DELICIOUS!! I DOUBLED THE RECIPE FOR 1 LB. OF PASTA (FARFALLE-BOW TIES)BUT USED 3 RIPE BOSC PEARS FOR A LITTLE EXTRA SWEETNESS.I TOASTED THE WALNUTS FOR 10 MINUTES AT 350 (WHICH ENHANCES THE FLAVOR OF THE WALNUT AND ALSO SPRINKLED SMOKED PAPRIKA OVER THE TOP JUST BEFORE SERVING. EVERYONE LOVED IT! I SERVED WITH A CAPRESE SALAD AND GRILLED PORTABELLOS! QUICK, FABULOUS, ELEGANT MEAL ESPECIALLY FOR THOSE UNEXPECTED GUESTS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This will be a five star recipe with a few changes. It would easily serve three people, and if it was part of a whole meal, probably four. Next time I will make the sauce in the pot before adding the pasta back in, just to make things easier. I think it needs an additional pear, so you get the extra bit of sweetness and more contrast of flavors. I will also add an extra tablespoon each of cream and parmesan, for a little more richness. Very tasty and different; it would definitely impress company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
LOVED IT!!! And I didn't change a thing!! BUT I can see where the right pear will really make a difference in this recipe. I use the Comice Pear that seems to be in the markets around Oct.. It is the MOST juciest and wonderful tasting pear you'll ever eat. The Comice Pear was awesome in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Valiquette Burch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Wow! This was a delicious change of pace for such a quick meal, and a good meatless option, too. The only changes I made were to use half & half instead of whipping cream, and blue cheese instead of gorgonzola. I would give it 5 stars either way. The blue/gorgonzola cheese was such a nice hint in the background, definitely not overpowering. This recipe definitely yields more than 2 servings - I'd say 3 or 4. Last thing - don't skip toasting the nuts! It really does change and enhance their flavor. Enjoy this one, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I made this recipe without the nuts, didn't have any on hand, and it was ok. I think maybe my pear was too soft. My daughter loves this without the pear. She requests it often. It is so easy to make, that I do make it most times she requests it. Without the pears and nuts it is kind of a "gourmet" mac-n-cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I added chicken to this recipe and it was delicious! I loved it! It was a hit for everyone in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
this recipe gave me inspiration for a modified version with stuffed shells ...i finely diced the pear and sauteed them in a tablespoon of butter and 1/4 c white wine..but left the pears with a crunchy consistency... i toasted a cup of walnuts and blended that with a 5 oz package of gorgonzola cheese crumbles in my food processor until smooth.....to each jumbo shell i added approx 1 tbsp of pear mixture and approx 1 tsp of the gorgonzola cheese mixture...baked them in the oven at 250 deg F for ~ 20 min. I made a fresh fennel white wine parm cream sauce and added 1 tsp of torn fresh sage....served 5 shells over wilted spinach and lightly covered in white sauce....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States