Gorgonzola Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Stodgy - lose the flour and milk mixture. Instead, infuse some garlic in heavy cream, and remove. Melt the gorgonzola in the cream, adding a little white wine to thin if needed. Add (or not) chopped walnuts to the finished sauce - and that's it! Take care when buying gorgonzola, as it comes in creamy and extra salty sand pungent. In Italy we traditionally use the creamy gorgonzola for this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
What a wonderful base recipe for a quick and easy gorgonzola cream sauce. Based on the reviews, I improvised a bit. I added a small bulb of garlic to saute with the butter, used half&half to make it richer, 1 and 1/4 cups of gorgonzola cheese, heated long enough to melt most of the cheese, then tossed it with hot tortelloni and topped it off with fresh dungeness crab...it was an excellent meal fit to be served in a restaurant. My sister who doesn't like gorgonzola or bleu cheese loved this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This recipe had almost no flavor, except for a very plain white sauce. We followed the directions exactly and even added a whole cup of gorgonzola, and could not taste the cheese at all. If I would make this again I would only make half the amount of sauce. Three cups was way too much for one pound of pasta anyways. If you cut the milk, butter, and flour in half and use 1 cup of cheese I think you might get a nice flavorful sauce then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Nice mild gorgonzola sauce. I put extra cheese in because I really like it. Also used skim milk and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I made this last night and was very disapointed. 3 cups of milk? that has to be a typo. It was very runny and I couldn't taste any cheese even after adding twice what it calls for. I have made/eaten gorgonzola sauce in the past and this was not IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Very good, however, like some of the other cooks, I added extra cheese and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I found this to be sort of like an enhanced version of the traditional Alfredo sauce. Delicious served over pasta, with some fresh parsley on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
OMG! This was to die for! My husband and I use to drive 2 hours to go to a restaurant to get a pasta dish with Gorgonzola Sauce. This tastes just like that sauce, now we don't have to drive all that way. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
Wow! This is fantastic. The market was out of gorgonzola so I substituted blue cheese. I added a bit more salt and pepper to bring out the flavors. I served over tortellini. My husband said it was definitely worth keeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I too added a little more cheese. I guess you can say alot more cheese. I used 1 1/2 cups. And it still needed something else. I think next time i will use a little more salt. I think sea salt and some extra fresh ground black pepper will do the trick. I will make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States