Gorgonzola Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Considering I don't really care for Gorgonzola this sauce is amazing! My mom bought a huge block of this cheese and I didn't know what to do with it and this recipe was exactly what I needed!! I added garlic like someone else suggested and more cheese/milk. If you love to cook you can get very creative with this recipe!! Great base for any cheese/white sauce, Thank you for sharing ;-) * used it with cheese tortellini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
My husband loves this! It is wonderfull on pork and even as a sub for alfredo sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turttletoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This is a great sauce. Try adding sliced and sauteed mushrooms to this sauce and pour onto a juicy steak...Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Stodgy - lose the flour and milk mixture. Instead, infuse some garlic in heavy cream, and remove. Melt the gorgonzola in the cream, adding a little white wine to thin if needed. Add (or not) chopped walnuts to the finished sauce - and that's it! Take care when buying gorgonzola, as it comes in creamy and extra salty sand pungent. In Italy we traditionally use the creamy gorgonzola for this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I found this to be sort of like an enhanced version of the traditional Alfredo sauce. Delicious served over pasta, with some fresh parsley on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I adjusted the recipe to 6 servings via the site here, as I didn't have a pan big enough to cook it in otherwise. Followed directions exactly, and the sauce had barely thickened. Wound up putting in an entire 5oz of Gorgonzola as well as several shakes of parm, and a few more tablespoons of flour to thicken, and it came out decent. Also to my own taste I added lots of black pepper and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
FANTASTIC! I drizzled this over grilled steaks to make it an italian sirloin! Paired it with seasoned potatoes and lemon baked asparagus!! yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2kook4u

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Very nice, took a little while for the cheese to melt, but all in all, it turned out very good. Rich flavor, but not overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hnwhitlock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was very tasty. I thought that it might be too blsnd without much seasoning but the gorgonzola provided enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I strongly recommend adding the gorgonzola a little at a time to suit your taste on this one. My cheese was high quality and very pungeont and made the sauce overwelming in taste. Next time I think i will omit the gorgonzola and just add garlic and parmesan for an alfredo that will work on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States