Gorgonzola Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
It came out grainy and without flavor, even after I cut the recipe down to two cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Quick & easy sauce. We enjoyed the sauce by dipping thick-cut strips of Italian bread into it. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
A good base for a delicious sauce! I used an entire block of Gorgonzola when I made it, nearly tripling the original quantity of the cheese but I do like the taste of Gorgonzola. As another reviewer has advised, do not add too much cheese to start if you are not accustomed to the strong flavor of this cheese. I also added five cloves of garlic for added flavor. I didn't have walnuts on hand, but would have added them if I did. I am a huge fan of strong cheeses and have missed the strong Gorgonzola pasta dishes I ate when I was living in Italy. I recommend pouring this sauce over medium-sized Conchiglie (shell pasta), Gnocchi (soft Italian dumplings filled with potato), or, ideally Trofiette (twisted rag-looking pasta) if you can find it, which is how I usually saw it prepared in Italy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thehippiecowgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
It's so funny reading everyone's opinions on this recipe- some people think it's perfect, some people think the cheese is too strong, some people complain that they can hardly taste the cheese and add a cup and a half. Are we all buying different strengths of gorgonzola or something? In any case, I'm in the "cheese is too strong" camp and only use about 2 tablespoons for the whole recipe. It turns out perfectly for us that way, quite tasty. More than that is overpowering to us! So if you don't know whether or not you love gorgonzola, I suggest adding just a little bit to start. You can always add more- even 1 1/2 cups if that's what makes you happy :) Also, this makes a pretty thin sauce- use another couple tablespoons of flour if you want something thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was very good. I served it with pork tenderloin. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I found this to be a great sauce. I cut it by 1/3 as I was using it over broccoli. It worked out great and had a nice flavor, not too overwhelming, but enough so that it was plenty flavorful. I am saving the remainder of the sauce to use tomorrow over pasta. Also, I used skim milk and it was plenty thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I made sauce with feta cheese instead of gorgonzola cheese, because it was what I had. Other than that, I followed the recipe and used about 1 cup of cheese rather than 1/3. Served over chunked chicken cutlets, spinach and gnocchi and it was FABULOUS! I will definitely be making it again, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
You HAVE to add about 1/4 cup of parmesan, and saute fresh mushrooms and garlic. add garlic powder, too. It doesnt taste right without it!! put in with grilled chicken strips and penne noodles and it will taste even better than Johnny Carino's !! hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I agree - there's not enough cheese to label this *Gorgonzola* - it's more like a roux, Maybe if I added a cup or more of the cheese it would work but I think there are better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I used 2 cloves of minced garlic, shallot, portabello mushrooms, and sauted shrimp in this sauce over fetticini--awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States