Gorgonzola Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Very rich and delicious. I made bacon wrapped shrimp to go along with this sauce and noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Here i go - rating a recipe with "my" changes, sorry! This sauce is SO easy and awesome BUT I only used 2 cups milk and increased to 1 cup Gorgonzola cheese - we love a stronger, flavorful sauce. (similar comments from others prompted m o make these changes). LOVED it and will keep in my favorites - thanks r the recipe!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was a really good recipe to start with as I wanted a cheesy cream sauce but had no heavy cream or half & half. It definitely needed tweaking, though, as many others have noted. I reduced the milk down to 2.5 cups and increased the flour to about 4 tbsp and the cheese to 1.5 cups. I also added garlic and, as a last step, bacon. Once said and done, it was amazing on top of elbow noodles for a "fancy" mac n' cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I made the basic recipe and it was pretty fantastic, I really enjoyed it over gnocchi but I think it could use some additions, I'll have to read the other reviews and see what has already been tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Nice start, but i agree with most the other guys, cut back on the flour and infuse more cheese and use cream instead or as well as milk. Parmesan mixes well with gorgonzola and takes a bit of the sharp edge off that the gorgonzola leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
3 cups of milk can't possibly be right. I came out with a really runny soup like result, even after wasting more cheese to try (unsuccessfully) and save it. I like the suggestion about a garlic infused heavy cream instead of the milk & flour. That just didn't even begin to work for me unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Delicious. Like many others, I added more cheese and made the sauce with a combination of 2 cups milk and 1 cup heavy cream. I added asparagus, parsley and chives, and used fusilli noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeschu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2Eat
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Loved it. Super easy and very tasty. I only used 2 cups of milk because I ran out, but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Nice recipe to play with. I added about 1 1/2 tbsp minced garlic which I sauteed in the butter before adding the flour. I increased flour to about 4 tbsp, cut milk to about 2 cups of fat-free milk, and increased the gorgonzola to about 3/4 cup. I also added in 1/2 cup of parmesean and 2 tbsp dried parsley, which was a nice touch, and tossed the sauce with mini bowtie pasta. It was pretty good but would probably use a full cup of the gorgonzola next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
three cups of milk HAS to be a typo- the sauce was way too thin and didn't have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States