Gordo's Good Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paulyman
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Great marinade for venison!!! I allowed one tender loin to marinate 4 hours and one overnight and the meat the next day tasted far superior to the quickly marinaded version. Forget the gas grill, charcoal grilling is perfect for this perpetration. I used dry rosemary and the smallest dash of white wine vinegar and that was perfect. I eat my venison medium rare and could detect no so called "gamey" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Great marinade! I am not partial to venison steak although I love dishes using ground. However, this marinade complimented the venison perfectly and took the gaminess away. Even though I always have a difficult time grilling venison (husband always says I overcook) and I did cook steaks well, again, he said they were not dry or tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I'm giving this four stars because the flavor was good, but it was very tough. That may not be the recipes fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This marinade is to die for. I use it every year. I package it with the meat prior to food sealing it for the freezer. When your ready, take out the meat and it soaks in the marinade while defrosting. Amazing!! Hope everyone enjoys it as much as I have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Absolutely fabulous!! I didn't have time to marinade it very long, so I can only imagine that it could have been even better. Even my 2&4-yr-olds asked for 2nd and 3rds. I used it on back strap. I didn't need 6 pounds of meat for just us, so I decreased the water to less than one cup and just added chicken bullion to that instead of the water and chicken stock. I also didn't have fresh parsley, basil & rosemary, so I used dried. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Illinois, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Thanksgiving would not have been the same without this recipe for venison. We took the deer 4 days prior to Thanksgiving with the idea of having a traditional American Thanksgiving of Venison and Turkey. My kids had never eaten venison and the thought of eating "Bambi" didn't sit well at first. But once they tried the venison prepared by marinating from this recipe, they loved it. In fact they asked for it the next day for lunch. The only difference was that instead of marinating for 4 hours, I marinated for a full 24 hours. I really think that may have made a big difference. 21 guests at Thanksgiving dinner swore it was the best venison they ever had. In fact, in many cases, they said it was the only time they ever enjoyed venison. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I really loved this recipe. I did use it with venison...but, I think it would be good with any wild game. I think I will use it on moose steaks next time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Great Recipe. Has anyone tried in a slow cooker or as a canning marinade?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Great recipe! Used backstrap & cooked in cast iron skillet. Very tender & great flavor. Thanks for a wonderful addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Truro, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States