Gooseberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This is the only recipe I use now for my gooseberry pie! I have tried many recipes and from now on this will be the only one I use. I did cut the sugar back 1/2 cup for the riper berries. This pie with a pie crust with vinegar and eggs is A+++++++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
The recipe calls for way too much sugar, as others have said. The 3 star rating is for that - I made mine with only one cup of sugar, and it was perfect - still a little tart, like what you expect with gooseberry pie, but not too sweet. This recipe is very similar to the one I grew up with, except instead of tapioca, my family used a little flour to thicken it up. I also like to sprinkle a little cinnamon in while cooking. I love gooseberry pie! Glad to see a recipe on here for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I gave this recipe a try and used only 1.5 cups of sugar as others recommended. My family and I absolutely LOVED it. I'm just sad I only had enough berries for one pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrismecham
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Just like my grandmothers! I don't own a pie server so the crust got a little mangled in this picture, but it tasted wonderful. It is going to only look like enough filling for 1 pie, but follow the recipe. It really is 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Sometimes things develop after a trip to the Farmer's Market - like what to do with gooseberries? I've tried this recipe twice so far and worked out the kinks after the first attempt. Like others, I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and in order to make it more pleasing to the little eyes in my house, I ground the tapioca in the coffee grinder so that it became a powder. I also took a bit longer in the "cook and stir until the mixture boils" step. It ends up becoming syrup-like, which made for a better tasting pie overall. Tart, delicious and unique - I'm tempted to try to set aside space in the yard to grow the berries now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMReid1220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Zionsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
not a great gooseberry pie in my opinion. wish I'd trusted my gut and dropped the sugar down and added more tapioca. I also agree 3C berries is not enough for a 9" pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Great pie and beautiful color. I would add a little butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is a wonderful pie! I decreased the sugar to 1.5 cups and added a little arrowroot powder for thickness, and made a lattice top, and it's perfect! Big hit for my family! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Recipe was very good BUT definitely too sweet as other reviewers say. I cut it back to 1.5 cups of sugar and it was still too much. I suppose it will depend on how ripe your gooseberries are. My parents have their own bushes, so mine were very ripe and very sweet. In my situation 1 cup of sugar would have been enough. I would advise between 1 cup sugar for very sweet very ripe berries to 1.5 cups for tart firm berries. Otherwise, nice simple recipe, loved the pie. The filling is typically thick for a fruit pie. If you like yours more congealed toss in an extra Tbls of tapioca. Final remark - depending on how you like your pies done, you may want to add 5 minutes to bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Great recipe! I've also made this same recipe substituting splenda for my grandpa who is diabetic. When making gooseberry pie it is important to know if you have wild gooseberries or not--the "tame" kind taste very differently than wild gooseberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States