Gooseberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
My family has always had an abundance of wild gooseberry bushes out in our pasture. I was really excited to find the thornless bushes on the side of out garage at our new home were black currants. Both of these fruits have a similar texture and tartness level. I have been using this recipe to make black currant pie, and it turns out great too! (It's just a deep purple hue.) A must for my family members who love the zing and tartness of the wild fruits in our area. I just use the prepared crusts you can purchase at your local store and use a few more whole berries to fit the size of my deep dish pie plate and voila! It's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SATBdivaNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This is the only recipe I use now for my gooseberry pie! I have tried many recipes and from now on this will be the only one I use. I did cut the sugar back 1/2 cup for the riper berries. This pie with a pie crust with vinegar and eggs is A+++++++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
The recipe calls for way too much sugar, as others have said. The 3 star rating is for that - I made mine with only one cup of sugar, and it was perfect - still a little tart, like what you expect with gooseberry pie, but not too sweet. This recipe is very similar to the one I grew up with, except instead of tapioca, my family used a little flour to thicken it up. I also like to sprinkle a little cinnamon in while cooking. I love gooseberry pie! Glad to see a recipe on here for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I gave this recipe a try and used only 1.5 cups of sugar as others recommended. My family and I absolutely LOVED it. I'm just sad I only had enough berries for one pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrismecham
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Just like my grandmothers! I don't own a pie server so the crust got a little mangled in this picture, but it tasted wonderful. It is going to only look like enough filling for 1 pie, but follow the recipe. It really is 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Sometimes things develop after a trip to the Farmer's Market - like what to do with gooseberries? I've tried this recipe twice so far and worked out the kinks after the first attempt. Like others, I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and in order to make it more pleasing to the little eyes in my house, I ground the tapioca in the coffee grinder so that it became a powder. I also took a bit longer in the "cook and stir until the mixture boils" step. It ends up becoming syrup-like, which made for a better tasting pie overall. Tart, delicious and unique - I'm tempted to try to set aside space in the yard to grow the berries now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMReid1220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Zionsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
not a great gooseberry pie in my opinion. wish I'd trusted my gut and dropped the sugar down and added more tapioca. I also agree 3C berries is not enough for a 9" pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Great pie and beautiful color. I would add a little butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is a wonderful pie! I decreased the sugar to 1.5 cups and added a little arrowroot powder for thickness, and made a lattice top, and it's perfect! Big hit for my family! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Recipe was very good BUT definitely too sweet as other reviewers say. I cut it back to 1.5 cups of sugar and it was still too much. I suppose it will depend on how ripe your gooseberries are. My parents have their own bushes, so mine were very ripe and very sweet. In my situation 1 cup of sugar would have been enough. I would advise between 1 cup sugar for very sweet very ripe berries to 1.5 cups for tart firm berries. Otherwise, nice simple recipe, loved the pie. The filling is typically thick for a fruit pie. If you like yours more congealed toss in an extra Tbls of tapioca. Final remark - depending on how you like your pies done, you may want to add 5 minutes to bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States