Goose and Kraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My boyfriend and his father have so much goose meat during the fall and I wanted to take a stab at my own way to prepare it so I found this recipe and wanted to wow them. They loved it! As for myself never having goose meat before it was good, but I think I enjoyed the sauerkraut more than the actual meat. The brown sugar was definitely good in it, but the meat was still very gamey for me. Overall though great recipe and will keep it in mind for next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I had to halve the recipe because like Mother Ann I only had the goose breasts to work with. To lessen the amount of carbs, I used a shredded rutabaga instead of potato and unsweetened applesauce. Next time I think I might use my Mom's sauerkraut recipe, which adds a bit of bacon and onions to the mix. Other than that a great recipe Matt, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
A very good way to prepare goose. My husband and son are avid waterfowl hunters so I'm always looking for new ways to prepare their bounty. They don't clean their geese/ducks whole, they only save the breasts (except rarely). So, I cut goose breast meat into large chunks and just put it into the crockpot raw with everything else. Dinner will be in an hour, but I took a bite out to "taste test" it. Very good and I'm sure there won't be any leftovers! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwin H. Kluge Jr.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Way too much kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
As close as I want to get to Goose is a friendly game of Duck, Duck Goose; however, my husband used this recipe last fall after one of his hunting expeditions and the men folk seemed to like it. I went shopping that day. One of the nice things about Allrecipes is that it has something for everyone; thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This is a very good recipe. We liked it and it reminds me of our Czech Grandma's goose and duck dinners. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
My husband had already de-boned the goose, so we baked it that way and we only added 1 jar of sauerkraut (2 seemed like a lot.)It was the best goose I'd ever tasted, but I am not a big fan of goose. My husband, who loves goose loved the meal and the goose was quite tender. The sour of the kraut and sweetness of the applesauce and brown sugar make a nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara Wieser Gust

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States