Gooey Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
use 1/2 cup oatmeal instead of coconut and add 1/2 cup peanut butter flavored chips and these bars are fabulous !!!! Great easy recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
A yummy treat, but nothing really special. They were enjoyed, but not raved about. These were definitely gooey as the name states, but I thought they could have had a stronger flavor. There's a faint peanut butter taste. I really only got texture from the coconut - not really any taste. I really liked the taste of the bottom layer, but thought the top needs more of a flavor burst. I'm curious to see if others alter this a little and how so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I tried this today and did it in a 13x9 pan. After reading the other reviews, I added 1 extra tbsp of peanut butter and 1 tbsp of flour to the syrup mixture, baked for the requisite amount of time and they came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
As is, the recipe is rather ... unpleasant. I altered it slightly and I enjoyed my changes. Instead of the given crust, I took a sleeve of graham crackers, smashed them up, and mixed with about 3/4 cup of melted butter. I pressed it into a pan, topped with chocolate chips, then followed the filling recipe as is, except using only 1/4 cup of corn syrup and adding 1/4 cup butter. I omitted the coconut because of personal preference, and didn't add more chocolate chips since they were a layer between the crust and peanut butter. Pretty tasty after my modifications, but rich. A small square is enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Did not like these at all. Maybe mine just didn't turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I really loved the texture as well as the flavour of these bars. They are gooey just like the name promises. After reading the first couple reviews I made a couple changes: used a 8x8 pan (I'm sure they would have been too thin for a 13x9) and added an extra 2 tbs of peanut butter to the filling (we really love peanut butter). I was tempted to add some more chocolate chips, but I'm glad I didn't. I think it would have overwhelmed the peanut butter flavour. I made these just a couple of hours ago and half the pan is gone - enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
The taste was yummy but I don't know what happened with mine. There was not enough to cover my 9 x 13 pan so next time I will either double the batch or use a smaller pan. Mine turned out very thin and nothing like the photo. Still good so I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
first of all, let me start out by saying that i am capable of following a simple recipe, and nothing that i have made has ever failed as miserably as these peanut butter bars. the "crust" was sizzling when i opened the oven, and i the corn starch created a bad texture of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
These were pretty good. I used graham crackers for half of the flour, used chunky peanut butter instead of the creamy, and omitted coconut for personal preference. I also doubled the peanut butter for more flavor and added marshmallows. Pretty yummy and extremely gooey. I even baked longer to make sure they were cooked all the way. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is definitely a great base for what I did. Instead of peanut butter and coconut I used 1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree and used mini chocolate chips. I also used the 13x9 pan. I will make them as pumpkin bars again, however I will us a smaller pan, perhaps 8x11. Loved the pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States