Gooey Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
These were pretty good. I used graham crackers for half of the flour, used chunky peanut butter instead of the creamy, and omitted coconut for personal preference. I also doubled the peanut butter for more flavor and added marshmallows. Pretty yummy and extremely gooey. I even baked longer to make sure they were cooked all the way. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Loved these way to much! Seriously couldn't stop eating them. Loved the texture, and the flavor was perfectly balanced. I'm making them again tomorrow! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Added more p. butter and substituted oatmeal for the cocoanut. This was okay but I have so many better recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is definitely a great base for what I did. Instead of peanut butter and coconut I used 1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree and used mini chocolate chips. I also used the 13x9 pan. I will make them as pumpkin bars again, however I will us a smaller pan, perhaps 8x11. Loved the pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I added a few Reese's Pieces to use them for a Halloween Party, but they weren't as tall as the ones in the photo and very gooey. They were good, but maybe I could have baked the crust a little longer than the recipe wrote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
There is some kind of product with a similar recipe that comes in a box and it tastes a little better. The ingredients are almost identical to this recipe. My family and I still liked it and ate it all. Recipe worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
My husband hates coconut so I used oats instead, and made this in an 8x8 pyrex dish so it was a little thicker. It turned out tasty, but next time I'll add less chocolate chips, they made the squares fall apart a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Did not like these at all. Maybe mine just didn't turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
As is, the recipe is rather ... unpleasant. I altered it slightly and I enjoyed my changes. Instead of the given crust, I took a sleeve of graham crackers, smashed them up, and mixed with about 3/4 cup of melted butter. I pressed it into a pan, topped with chocolate chips, then followed the filling recipe as is, except using only 1/4 cup of corn syrup and adding 1/4 cup butter. I omitted the coconut because of personal preference, and didn't add more chocolate chips since they were a layer between the crust and peanut butter. Pretty tasty after my modifications, but rich. A small square is enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I tried this today and did it in a 13x9 pan. After reading the other reviews, I added 1 extra tbsp of peanut butter and 1 tbsp of flour to the syrup mixture, baked for the requisite amount of time and they came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States