Gooey Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Well, don't try to use fat-free sweetened condensed milk, low fat graham crackers. Tastes a bit cardboardy to me. I did use milk chocolate chips and added a dash of salt and 1 tsp of vanilla. Again, don't try to go low fat, it just doesn't do the recipe justice. ** Update on 4/4 -- these tasted much better the next day. They were still slightly warm when I tried them on the night I made them. Sorry for the bad first review, but I'd make this again, just know I have to make them at least 1 day in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by AliDot
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My family loved these! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
My mother has had this recipe from 1959 as it was published with a little set of recipes from Eagle Brand milk. It was known as "Gold Rush Brownies." We always double the recipe and bake in a 9x13 pan. Also, to get them out of the pan with more ease, grease the pan, then line just the bottom and not the sides with waxed(yes, not parchment this time!) and spray the top of the waxed paper with Pam. In cooler weather, they ship really well if you want to send some fabulous Christmas goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Yum! Taste awesome once they cool all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Just the 'easy' factor makes these a 5 star. Delicious, sweet, gooey. Perfect for a quick treat! Makes sure the pan is super greased....these like to stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conestoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pequea, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I made these for my daughter's day care class for snack and they were a big big hit. I will make them again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I had no problem with them sticking. They were gooey and good! I threw on a handful of mini marshmallows and broiled for a few minutes - they were gone pretty fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was AWESOME. I took this to my friends for a get together and everyone LOVED them. They were easy and Yummy. A keeper for sure!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. This is absolutely the most delicious decadent Bar Cookie recipe I've ever made - AND - no sugar. The sweetness comes from the other ingredients. I will be passing this recipe on to all my friends. YOU HAVE TO TRY THIS. I just mixed everything together at one time and patted it into the baking dish - so easy and so very very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
So easy, and so yummy! I may actually cut back a bit on the chocolate chips next time, but other than that - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States