Gooey Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Very good bars! I accidently let them go too long in the oven so they got a little crunchy. I would suggest, even if they look a little undone, to let them cook the rest of the way in the pan. These were extremely easy to make, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
my kids loved these bars. I made them without the nuts and they didn't last 10 minutes out the counter... I didn't even get one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ringling, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Left out the nuts. Got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My FAVORITE recipe! I love these bars, so sweet and goopy! I added marshmallows once and called it S'Mores Bars. I also made double chocolate by using chocolate graham crackers instead of regular. I had this recipe years ago and lost it. Thanks so much for submitting this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chanda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
My grandma has made these every Christmas for as long as I can remember. The only difference is that she adds some vanilla and salt...she calls them Marians, but I suspect that she calls them that b/c that's the name of the lady who gave her the recipe a long time ago. I love these so much and it always reminds me of Christmases spent in PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I was told by a friend her grandmum makes these and she adds 1/2 tsp. salt and 1 tsp vanilla and they are Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Quick, so easy, gooey, and good! I left out the nuts, and added a few white chocolate chips on top. (Next time I won't, the semisweet chocolate chips are enough!) Baked for around 22 minutes, and they seemed to be just right :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I admit I chose to make this recipe purely out of sheer curiosity and a good dose of skepticism. How good could these be with no sugar (the granulated kind), butter, flour or eggs? But then Magic Cookie Bars came to mind so I "hauled" out ALL four ingredients. It took a lot longer for the oven to preheat than it did to whip these up. I made things easy for myself both for cutting the bars and for clean-up and lined my pan with foil. As I was making these S'Mores kept coming to mind so I just had to add a handful of mini marshmallows when these were done and just popped the pan under the broiler for a minute. I'm a believer. Can't beat 'em for gooiness and chocolatey goodness and they really do kind of taste like a squishy S'more! I'm telling you, if you're short on baking ingredients, if your kid needs something for a school treat in a hurry, or if you just have a sweet tooth that needs satisfying NOW, keep these in mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Well, don't try to use fat-free sweetened condensed milk, low fat graham crackers. Tastes a bit cardboardy to me. I did use milk chocolate chips and added a dash of salt and 1 tsp of vanilla. Again, don't try to go low fat, it just doesn't do the recipe justice. ** Update on 4/4 -- these tasted much better the next day. They were still slightly warm when I tried them on the night I made them. Sorry for the bad first review, but I'd make this again, just know I have to make them at least 1 day in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by AliDot
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My family loved these! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States