Gooey Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
My mother has had this recipe from 1959 as it was published with a little set of recipes from Eagle Brand milk. It was known as "Gold Rush Brownies." We always double the recipe and bake in a 9x13 pan. Also, to get them out of the pan with more ease, grease the pan, then line just the bottom and not the sides with waxed(yes, not parchment this time!) and spray the top of the waxed paper with Pam. In cooler weather, they ship really well if you want to send some fabulous Christmas goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AliDot
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My family loved these! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Well, don't try to use fat-free sweetened condensed milk, low fat graham crackers. Tastes a bit cardboardy to me. I did use milk chocolate chips and added a dash of salt and 1 tsp of vanilla. Again, don't try to go low fat, it just doesn't do the recipe justice. ** Update on 4/4 -- these tasted much better the next day. They were still slightly warm when I tried them on the night I made them. Sorry for the bad first review, but I'd make this again, just know I have to make them at least 1 day in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I admit I chose to make this recipe purely out of sheer curiosity and a good dose of skepticism. How good could these be with no sugar (the granulated kind), butter, flour or eggs? But then Magic Cookie Bars came to mind so I "hauled" out ALL four ingredients. It took a lot longer for the oven to preheat than it did to whip these up. I made things easy for myself both for cutting the bars and for clean-up and lined my pan with foil. As I was making these S'Mores kept coming to mind so I just had to add a handful of mini marshmallows when these were done and just popped the pan under the broiler for a minute. I'm a believer. Can't beat 'em for gooiness and chocolatey goodness and they really do kind of taste like a squishy S'more! I'm telling you, if you're short on baking ingredients, if your kid needs something for a school treat in a hurry, or if you just have a sweet tooth that needs satisfying NOW, keep these in mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Quick, so easy, gooey, and good! I left out the nuts, and added a few white chocolate chips on top. (Next time I won't, the semisweet chocolate chips are enough!) Baked for around 22 minutes, and they seemed to be just right :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I was told by a friend her grandmum makes these and she adds 1/2 tsp. salt and 1 tsp vanilla and they are Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
My grandma has made these every Christmas for as long as I can remember. The only difference is that she adds some vanilla and salt...she calls them Marians, but I suspect that she calls them that b/c that's the name of the lady who gave her the recipe a long time ago. I love these so much and it always reminds me of Christmases spent in PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My FAVORITE recipe! I love these bars, so sweet and goopy! I added marshmallows once and called it S'Mores Bars. I also made double chocolate by using chocolate graham crackers instead of regular. I had this recipe years ago and lost it. Thanks so much for submitting this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chanda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Left out the nuts. Got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
my kids loved these bars. I made them without the nuts and they didn't last 10 minutes out the counter... I didn't even get one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ringling, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States