Gooey Cherry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Kids of ALL ages love this recipe! My Sister inlaw has been making this recipe for over 18 years that I know of, dont know where she origionally found it, but it is a delicious cookie..my favorite! We also add coconut to the frosting sometimes. Its best to keep these refridgerated after they have been frosted, cover them with plastic wrap and they will last for several days...if they arent eaten up first! =) Mine dont last but a few days..cause they are so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Mmmm... I saw this recipe & just had to try it... I'm glad I did. Maybe these weren't the prettiest cookie on my Christmas plates, but they were one of the tastiest! They are time-consuming with the different steps, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
These are definitely a keeper, you can taste everything and nothing overpowers anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
these bars were delicious! totally recomend them if you like the buttery taste of shortbread! they only lasted a minute - everyone ate them up so quickly! they aren't the most beautiful bars, but i gave them 5 stars just 'cause they taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
These are the most amazing bars if you like cherries! They were a hit for all of our holiday gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
These turned out great but i do agree that once i first iced them, they were kind of "blah" looking. I had some mini gingerbread men and christmas tree sprinkles and with this addition, they looked beautiful. These squares require patience when cutting them in order to get the perfect looking square. I froze mine slightly prior to cutting it. I also did not have a food processor, but i used my pampered chef chopper and it did the cherries and nuts perfectly. Great addition to my christmas baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Delicious! I will definitely make them again. I probably over baked the crust, it never turned brown. So they weren't very "gooey" but the flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I got good reviews from my coworkers when I took this to a christmas party. very sweet for my taste, but it is good and easy. I'll make it again for next christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDRIANI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
These are delicious bars, easy to make, and a huge hit with my family. The only thing I changed was to use another tablespoon of butter in the frosting to make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMETTOMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Wonderful! It's like the bars our family friend made us for Christmas every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States