Gooey Cherry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
These turned out great but i do agree that once i first iced them, they were kind of "blah" looking. I had some mini gingerbread men and christmas tree sprinkles and with this addition, they looked beautiful. These squares require patience when cutting them in order to get the perfect looking square. I froze mine slightly prior to cutting it. I also did not have a food processor, but i used my pampered chef chopper and it did the cherries and nuts perfectly. Great addition to my christmas baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Sweet, buttery and rich, rich, RICH! So sweet my husband said it made his teeth "tingle".The shortbread base seemed overdone, I would suggest not waiting for your crust to get to the light brown stage in the first baking step, just go with the 12 minutes realizing that it's going to cook for another 25 minutes. You must definitely wait until the bars are completely cooled to frost or it will be a mess. There is another recipe on this site that I like a lot called "Pink Ladies" that uses a similar frosting for a chocolate base, I think I'd like to try and combine parts of each of these recipes to have a chocolate base with cherry topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Mmmm... I saw this recipe & just had to try it... I'm glad I did. Maybe these weren't the prettiest cookie on my Christmas plates, but they were one of the tastiest! They are time-consuming with the different steps, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Kids of ALL ages love this recipe! My Sister inlaw has been making this recipe for over 18 years that I know of, dont know where she origionally found it, but it is a delicious cookie..my favorite! We also add coconut to the frosting sometimes. Its best to keep these refridgerated after they have been frosted, cover them with plastic wrap and they will last for several days...if they arent eaten up first! =) Mine dont last but a few days..cause they are so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
My husband really, really likes these. The "crust" can be a little dry if you aren't careful. Also instead of spreading the frosting I drizzled it in zigzags or other designs and they actually looked quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I made these this year as part of my Christmas cookies. They were very easy to make, and yieled quite a few cookies. One tip I have is to make sure not to process the cherry mixture in the food processor more than a few seconds, you just want the cherries to get a little chopped up. I made 2 alterations, one was that I forgot I needed the cherry juice and dumped it out, so I just used water in place of it to make a white frosting. The other is that my family doesn't really like nuts, so I just left them out. The bars are pretty sweet, especially with the powdered sugar icing, but they are sooo good and have a great texture with combination of the crust and the cherry layer. Overall, a definite winner. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
these bars were delicious! totally recomend them if you like the buttery taste of shortbread! they only lasted a minute - everyone ate them up so quickly! they aren't the most beautiful bars, but i gave them 5 stars just 'cause they taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I got compliments on these. I took the advice of another reviewer and drizzled the icing over the bars to make it less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I completely agree that these taste GREAT... But I also think they aren't very pretty. I made these for Husband to take into work but I changed my mind after seeing the neon pink frosting! I'm not complaining though - they'll be great with a nice cup of mid-afternoon tea! Thanks! (and btw, this is NOT a one star recipe...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These are really great, and look wonderful on a Christmas Cookie tray. I would definately suggest to double the frosting, and add at least 2 more tablespoons of butter to make it more creamy. I think I am going to try these with almonds next time for variation. I sprinkled red sprinkles on top- and they looked very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States