Gooey Cherry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Wonderful! It's like the bars our family friend made us for Christmas every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I mistakenly believed all the other reviews. This recipe did not meet my standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I completely agree that these taste GREAT... But I also think they aren't very pretty. I made these for Husband to take into work but I changed my mind after seeing the neon pink frosting! I'm not complaining though - they'll be great with a nice cup of mid-afternoon tea! Thanks! (and btw, this is NOT a one star recipe...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
These are the most amazing bars if you like cherries! They were a hit for all of our holiday gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Delicious! I will definitely make them again. I probably over baked the crust, it never turned brown. So they weren't very "gooey" but the flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These are really great, and look wonderful on a Christmas Cookie tray. I would definately suggest to double the frosting, and add at least 2 more tablespoons of butter to make it more creamy. I think I am going to try these with almonds next time for variation. I sprinkled red sprinkles on top- and they looked very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
These turned out great but i do agree that once i first iced them, they were kind of "blah" looking. I had some mini gingerbread men and christmas tree sprinkles and with this addition, they looked beautiful. These squares require patience when cutting them in order to get the perfect looking square. I froze mine slightly prior to cutting it. I also did not have a food processor, but i used my pampered chef chopper and it did the cherries and nuts perfectly. Great addition to my christmas baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I made these this year as part of my Christmas cookies. They were very easy to make, and yieled quite a few cookies. One tip I have is to make sure not to process the cherry mixture in the food processor more than a few seconds, you just want the cherries to get a little chopped up. I made 2 alterations, one was that I forgot I needed the cherry juice and dumped it out, so I just used water in place of it to make a white frosting. The other is that my family doesn't really like nuts, so I just left them out. The bars are pretty sweet, especially with the powdered sugar icing, but they are sooo good and have a great texture with combination of the crust and the cherry layer. Overall, a definite winner. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
These are delicious bars, easy to make, and a huge hit with my family. The only thing I changed was to use another tablespoon of butter in the frosting to make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMETTOMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
These are a very nice addition to my Holiday platters. A very pretty pink color! These are one of my husbands favorites, and very seldom do all of these bars make it to my platers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHELLYBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States