Gooey Cherry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Hello I've made this recipe for years,and have always called them Party Pinks. I noticed a problem with this recipe from mine.1/2 cup of flour goes into the batter with the cherries for more of a cake like center. That's why the baking powder is in it.Also if you find this too sweet I add a dash of salt to the frosting which is more creamy depending on amount of cherry juice added. Family favorite for over 40 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Briget
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
These are very good.. I baked the crust for 10 minutes, then after adding the topping, I baked for another 20. I added a little extra cherry juice to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These were good. The family liked them more than I did. I was kind of worried when they came out of the oven because it was very brown and the edges had kind of burned, but they tasted good. Not as cherry flavored as I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I found this recipe in another magazine and decided to give it a try this Christmas season. Boy, the bars were a huge hit and were usually the first to go on my cookie trays. They are incredible rick! The frosting/glaze can be tinkered with. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I have been making these for years now and every year they get requested. They are on the sweet side...so cut them small. I usually freeze them before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
it was ok but not what I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
These bars are absolutely delectable! My neighbor and I crave them throughout the year! I happen to have a super sweet tooth, and double the frosting for these. (Most people find that a bit over the top). These are must have for my family at Christmas time, but great any time of the year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexdolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I got compliments on these. I took the advice of another reviewer and drizzled the icing over the bars to make it less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Sweet, buttery and rich, rich, RICH! So sweet my husband said it made his teeth "tingle".The shortbread base seemed overdone, I would suggest not waiting for your crust to get to the light brown stage in the first baking step, just go with the 12 minutes realizing that it's going to cook for another 25 minutes. You must definitely wait until the bars are completely cooled to frost or it will be a mess. There is another recipe on this site that I like a lot called "Pink Ladies" that uses a similar frosting for a chocolate base, I think I'd like to try and combine parts of each of these recipes to have a chocolate base with cherry topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
My husband really, really likes these. The "crust" can be a little dry if you aren't careful. Also instead of spreading the frosting I drizzled it in zigzags or other designs and they actually looked quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States