Gooey Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
i found these cookies to be just ok! disaapointing :( i can't really describe what was wrong with them, but they were just pretty plain and lackluster for me. perhaps making them with chocolate cake mix would amp up the flavor??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I usually add a teaspoon of almond extract and another teaspoon of butter extract to brighten the flavor a little. Just keep in mind that if you have a low quality mixer you can burn out the motor while mixing these (I did it twice before getting a high quality stand mixer) and end up mixing by hand. If you do have to mix by hand, just keep in mind these cookies are worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
These are so wonderful. Light and good tasting. A precious cookie that I would love to bring to a tea party. Putting dough in fridge for a bit did help the stickiness. I didn't think they were too sweet at all. Came out of oven on the minute mark of 12. Too soon they would fall apart more easily. Big hit at my husbands work and they are mostly all men.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Yum! I would agree with another reviewer - it would be best to let the dough sit in the fridge or even overnight. It can be VERY hard to handle - even when I greased my hands! The end result was quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I followed this recipe almost exactly. I didn't have powdered suger so I used regular sugar. Also, half of the batch was made to the recipe. The other half, I added 1/4 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. The butter cookies were good, but a bit too gooey (almost doughy) to me. I would cook that a few minutes longer in the future, but the taste was really good. The batch with the choc chips and pecans was by far the best though. It added much more texture and flavor and was delish! I am eager to try this recipe again with Chocolate cake and peanut butter chips ... or macadamia nuts and white chocolate chips ... combinations are endless. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Excellent cookies. The cream cheese adds a nice touch. The cookies are just a tad too sweet so I think I would hold off rolling them in icing sugar next time. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I just made these cookies for a get well gift, it was the best gift ever! They were so soft and very different from what I have made before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mckenzie1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is a simple but tasty recipe! I have tried this recipe many different ways by substituting different types of cake mix, and they all come out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I've made these cookies several times now. They're easy to make, and everyone loves them! My boyfriend has brought them to work, and his coworkers won't stop asking him to bring more. A few notes on the recipe: I bake them using Butter Cake Mix instead of Yellow Cake Mix. Last time I baked them, I put the dough in the fridge for about 15 minutes before shaping it into balls. This made the dough easier to work with. If you don't refrigerate it, it can be pretty gooey. So I'd recommend refrigerating it for at least 15-20 minutes (if not longer) if time allows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Family loved these cookies. Super buttery without being too sweet. Will make these again and after reading some of the other reivews, I will definitely try other types of cake mix. I too didn't refrigerate the dough before I made the cookies (then again, I forgot to roll them & made them sort of a thick, flat cookie) and they came out great. Once I had the powdered sugar on them, they were very easy to work with. I look forward to making these again. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loliekay
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States