Gooey Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Fantastic! I made these with my 3-year-old granddaughter, and she loved them too, and they were easy enough to for her to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Martinsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Clinton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Amazing cookies!!! I would have thought that with the cream cheese and butter that the cookies would have been dense, but they are soo light and just melt in your mouth! They are sooo good, I will definitely be making these again. I can't wait to try more variations... I saw one with a chocolate cake mix with a rolo in the center.... mmmmmm, so many possibilities!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This is one of our favorite recipes for quick and easy cookies. My husband loves gooey butter cake, so these cookies are a perfect substitute when I want to make a treat in a rush. I've used white and yellow cake mixes so far, and plan to try it with chocolate soon....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I love these cookies! Made it on a whim because I was craving something different and sweet, and oh boy did I get it! I've made it two times and have used the yellow butter batter instead of just yellow. It makes the dough very unstable, but still a -O.M.G- cookie. I will say however that this will have to be my special holiday cookie. It has to be at least five pounds gained per bite. BUT SOOO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilGemini15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is my go to cookie recipe! My favorite is Duncan Hines Golden Butter Cake mix with lemon extract! It is best to slightly under bake the cookies to maintain the fluffy deliciousness. I love adding sprinkles to the batter to amp up the festiveness for the various seasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
So easy and foolproof. These were the cookies that vanished off the plate first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I soooo love this recipe! I used the confetti cake mix instead since that is what I had in my pantry and add some sprinkles to it. I don`t know if the cooking temp and time was correct on here or maybe it was just my oven, but I had to up the cooking temp. to 375 and bake it to about 18 minutes since we do like our edges to be a little golden. Over all this is the best recipe for cookies that I`ve ever come across so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My optometrist first clued me in on a gooey cookie. I found this recipe and decided to try it. The process is a bit messy and sticky (I did not refridgerate my dough), and to offset the sweetness my doctor warned me of, added 1 cup of chopped cranberries. The final product was definitely gooey and the tartness of the cranberries was perfect. I like my cookies a bit heavier but my husband LOVED these. I think I would like to try a differnt cake mix as some reviewers have noted. I used yellow butter, the french vanilla sounds interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jetchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe is easy to do and very delicious, there were no crumbs left. Will make All the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I made this recipe using a chocolate butter flavored cake mix,using 1/2 tsp. vanilla, at the request of my teen-and wow, was it good! In fact,the dough tasted so good that it was difficult to save enough to bake! However, this makes a very soft,sticky dough, and I found refrigerating before rolling it into balls was a MUST. I chilled it while the oven preheated, and that wasn't long enough. I think 1/2hour would be the minimum. The chocolate dough makes it difficult to gauge the doneness, so check for edges that are firm to the touch, and trust carryover heat to do the rest. To replicate that gooey butter cake look (and separate these from similar looking chocolate crinkles or crackles) give them a generous dusting of powdered sugar before plating. These are so easy to make in any flavor that I think I'll include both the original and chocolate versions on my cookie trays for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States