Gooey Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
If you have ever had St. Louis Oooey Gooey Butter cake this is as close as you can get in a cookie. They are amazing, but don't try to mail them, they don't hold up well. If you want them for picnicking, make sure they go into the cooler, they don't like heat. I have tried all different flavors of cake mix and they are all great, our favorite is butter recipe yellow and butter recipe chocolate. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I take it to pot lucks all the time and everyone loves it. The dough is definitely messy but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I just made these today. I thought I would try a new kind of cookie to give out with others for Christmas. I thought they were just okay. It tasted a lot like yellow cake mix and was pretty much the consistency of cake. They tasted fine but nothing special. Don't think I'd bother making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I think this recipe is good, but not to die for. I did dress up 1/2 the batch for Christmas by rolling them in a combination of finely chopped walnuts and plain sugar. This was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
These were nice and soft. The powdered sugar made a nice gloss "crust" to the cookie. I also used a butter cake box mix for mine to add the extra butter flavor. I decided to stir in toffee pieces too to make a butter toffee cookie, but I can see how you could change the cake mix or stir ins easily. They were simple, fast, and yummy. My kind of cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made these with my 2 youngest munchkins and added color to the mix they loved rolling the dough balls in the powdered sugar and once they were all baked everyone loved eating them. These cookies did not last they were gone with a quickness. Can't wait to try some of the suggestions others have written. But just as is these are super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Just ok. Looks plain and they are plain. I followed the recipe exactly. My husband loves butter flavored anything. Dough was sticky. I read the reviews and did as they suggested I put the dough in the fridge overnight. Was so excited to make them next day. But dough still super sticky. Only made two cookies sheets worth and threw the rest out. My husband did eat a few but he wasn't raving about them. Another thing this recipe makes a lot.... like five of my cookie sheets.I put 12 cookies on each sheet. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I didn't care for using the cake mix. They didn't turn out as expected, more cake-like than cookie. Gooey butter cookies isn't the proper name for these. I believe that children would love these with a little tweaking of the recipe but as an adult who loves desserts particularly cookies and cake these weren't worth the hype. Will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was a super easy cookie, and so yummy. My husband is already making plans for all the different verisons he wants me to make. For my first one I used the the Yellow Butter cake mix & chilled the dough for 2 hours before baking. They were not too sweet either which I was a bit worried about. I am looking forward to trying different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Great Recipe! These are delicious and great for tailgating! I doubled the recipe and used 2 boxes of Butter cake mix rather than plain yellow cake mix as suggested by others here and I also refrigerated the dough for about 2 hours. I did bake these for about 13-14 minutes. They seemed to achieve the best texture with that cook time. I always use parchment paper when baking cookies so no worries about the bottoms. I have to say the cookies turned out fantastic! They were a hit at the tailgate! Next I will try some of the add in as other suggested! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States