Gooey Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I made this recipe using a chocolate butter flavored cake mix,using 1/2 tsp. vanilla, at the request of my teen-and wow, was it good! In fact,the dough tasted so good that it was difficult to save enough to bake! However, this makes a very soft,sticky dough, and I found refrigerating before rolling it into balls was a MUST. I chilled it while the oven preheated, and that wasn't long enough. I think 1/2hour would be the minimum. The chocolate dough makes it difficult to gauge the doneness, so check for edges that are firm to the touch, and trust carryover heat to do the rest. To replicate that gooey butter cake look (and separate these from similar looking chocolate crinkles or crackles) give them a generous dusting of powdered sugar before plating. These are so easy to make in any flavor that I think I'll include both the original and chocolate versions on my cookie trays for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I love this recipe, i make them every year around the holidays, its a great recipe for me because my 3 year old can help roll them in the powdered sugar and she has a blast, but i usually put these in a tupperware container and put them in the freezer overnight before having them at any parties or what not, my little brother said "They are like cake and ice cream mixed together in a little cookie, these are heavenly!!!!" They are good warm or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Missing ST Louis, made these tonight and they were perfect. Gooey, Yummy-ness! I added a little more vanilla and baked 14 min - perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I made these with a coconut cake mix and coconut extract. Yum! The dough was sticky but workable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Super easy! I didn't chill dough, but with these tips, it was easy: Put your powdered sugar in a shallow dish. Using a small melon ball scoop or spoon, scoop up enough for a 1 in ball. Using your thumb, push the dough into the powdered sugar. That one thumb will be messy, but you can wipe/lick it when you're through! ;) After you've dropped the balls (you may have to do this in batches), gently roll them in the powdered sugar. Voila! You can now easily roll them into balls and place on cookie sheet. Bake them until they test golden on the bottom when carefully lifting to check with a spatula. They're just the right size to put in mini muffin liners to match any color/party/holiday theme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
These are very good, do not over bake. Our favorite is the chocolate cake mix version. To the chocolate I added a half bag of semi sweet chips and rolled the dough in powder sugar mixed with a quality brand cocoa powder pre-bake. I did make a version with yellow cake mix, butterscotch chips and slivered almonds. My grown kids and youngest kids liked them, just a little too sweet for me. Those chocolate ones though! woo hew! Tasted like brownies,darn fine tasting brownies at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nice kilt Laddie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I am a "cook by recipe only" baker, so I followed the recipe exactly, and these turned out just perfectly. Just like Gooey Cake in a bite size version. I had to put them in the freezer to keep us from eating the entire batch in one evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I have made these cookies many times and they come out perfect every time! This is definitely my go-to cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Awesome recipe! Have made a dozen times with various flavors and all were good. (Lemon and Butter Pecan are favs) TIP: Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls in to powdered sugar, roll to coat and THEN lightly shape into balls, shaking off the excess. I usually get around 3 doz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
i found these cookies to be just ok! disaapointing :( i can't really describe what was wrong with them, but they were just pretty plain and lackluster for me. perhaps making them with chocolate cake mix would amp up the flavor??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States