Gooey Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I am a "cook by recipe only" baker, so I followed the recipe exactly, and these turned out just perfectly. Just like Gooey Cake in a bite size version. I had to put them in the freezer to keep us from eating the entire batch in one evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I have made these cookies many times and they come out perfect every time! This is definitely my go-to cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Awesome recipe! Have made a dozen times with various flavors and all were good. (Lemon and Butter Pecan are favs) TIP: Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls in to powdered sugar, roll to coat and THEN lightly shape into balls, shaking off the excess. I usually get around 3 doz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
i found these cookies to be just ok! disaapointing :( i can't really describe what was wrong with them, but they were just pretty plain and lackluster for me. perhaps making them with chocolate cake mix would amp up the flavor??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I usually add a teaspoon of almond extract and another teaspoon of butter extract to brighten the flavor a little. Just keep in mind that if you have a low quality mixer you can burn out the motor while mixing these (I did it twice before getting a high quality stand mixer) and end up mixing by hand. If you do have to mix by hand, just keep in mind these cookies are worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
These are so wonderful. Light and good tasting. A precious cookie that I would love to bring to a tea party. Putting dough in fridge for a bit did help the stickiness. I didn't think they were too sweet at all. Came out of oven on the minute mark of 12. Too soon they would fall apart more easily. Big hit at my husbands work and they are mostly all men.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Yum! I would agree with another reviewer - it would be best to let the dough sit in the fridge or even overnight. It can be VERY hard to handle - even when I greased my hands! The end result was quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I followed this recipe almost exactly. I didn't have powdered suger so I used regular sugar. Also, half of the batch was made to the recipe. The other half, I added 1/4 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. The butter cookies were good, but a bit too gooey (almost doughy) to me. I would cook that a few minutes longer in the future, but the taste was really good. The batch with the choc chips and pecans was by far the best though. It added much more texture and flavor and was delish! I am eager to try this recipe again with Chocolate cake and peanut butter chips ... or macadamia nuts and white chocolate chips ... combinations are endless. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Excellent cookies. The cream cheese adds a nice touch. The cookies are just a tad too sweet so I think I would hold off rolling them in icing sugar next time. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I just made these cookies for a get well gift, it was the best gift ever! They were so soft and very different from what I have made before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mckenzie1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States