Gooey Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
So easy and foolproof. These were the cookies that vanished off the plate first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I soooo love this recipe! I used the confetti cake mix instead since that is what I had in my pantry and add some sprinkles to it. I don`t know if the cooking temp and time was correct on here or maybe it was just my oven, but I had to up the cooking temp. to 375 and bake it to about 18 minutes since we do like our edges to be a little golden. Over all this is the best recipe for cookies that I`ve ever come across so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My optometrist first clued me in on a gooey cookie. I found this recipe and decided to try it. The process is a bit messy and sticky (I did not refridgerate my dough), and to offset the sweetness my doctor warned me of, added 1 cup of chopped cranberries. The final product was definitely gooey and the tartness of the cranberries was perfect. I like my cookies a bit heavier but my husband LOVED these. I think I would like to try a differnt cake mix as some reviewers have noted. I used yellow butter, the french vanilla sounds interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jetchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe is easy to do and very delicious, there were no crumbs left. Will make All the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I made this recipe using a chocolate butter flavored cake mix,using 1/2 tsp. vanilla, at the request of my teen-and wow, was it good! In fact,the dough tasted so good that it was difficult to save enough to bake! However, this makes a very soft,sticky dough, and I found refrigerating before rolling it into balls was a MUST. I chilled it while the oven preheated, and that wasn't long enough. I think 1/2hour would be the minimum. The chocolate dough makes it difficult to gauge the doneness, so check for edges that are firm to the touch, and trust carryover heat to do the rest. To replicate that gooey butter cake look (and separate these from similar looking chocolate crinkles or crackles) give them a generous dusting of powdered sugar before plating. These are so easy to make in any flavor that I think I'll include both the original and chocolate versions on my cookie trays for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I love this recipe, i make them every year around the holidays, its a great recipe for me because my 3 year old can help roll them in the powdered sugar and she has a blast, but i usually put these in a tupperware container and put them in the freezer overnight before having them at any parties or what not, my little brother said "They are like cake and ice cream mixed together in a little cookie, these are heavenly!!!!" They are good warm or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Missing ST Louis, made these tonight and they were perfect. Gooey, Yummy-ness! I added a little more vanilla and baked 14 min - perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I made these with a coconut cake mix and coconut extract. Yum! The dough was sticky but workable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Super easy! I didn't chill dough, but with these tips, it was easy: Put your powdered sugar in a shallow dish. Using a small melon ball scoop or spoon, scoop up enough for a 1 in ball. Using your thumb, push the dough into the powdered sugar. That one thumb will be messy, but you can wipe/lick it when you're through! ;) After you've dropped the balls (you may have to do this in batches), gently roll them in the powdered sugar. Voila! You can now easily roll them into balls and place on cookie sheet. Bake them until they test golden on the bottom when carefully lifting to check with a spatula. They're just the right size to put in mini muffin liners to match any color/party/holiday theme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
These are very good, do not over bake. Our favorite is the chocolate cake mix version. To the chocolate I added a half bag of semi sweet chips and rolled the dough in powder sugar mixed with a quality brand cocoa powder pre-bake. I did make a version with yellow cake mix, butterscotch chips and slivered almonds. My grown kids and youngest kids liked them, just a little too sweet for me. Those chocolate ones though! woo hew! Tasted like brownies,darn fine tasting brownies at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nice kilt Laddie

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States