Gooey Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I actually got this recipe from a co-worker then quickly realized it is the exact same recipe as my Red Velvet cookies...just use a red velvet cake mix instead. They are CRAZY good. Right now I'm doing some Funfettie Gooey Butter Cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I didn't care for these cookies at all. Good butter cakes are gooey, these cookies are soft. The batter was way to sticky to roll into balls and roll in powered sugar, so I just blobbed them onto the cookie sheet. They taste like boxed yellow cake cookies. They don't taste bad they just aren't ANYTHING like butter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I used a Butter Recipe Yellow cake mix because that is what I had in the house. I made the batter, very easy to do, and refrigerated it overnight. Lined my cookie sheet with parchment paper and used a small Pampered Chef cookie scoop which worked great. Can't wait to try different flavored cake mixes. It made 5 dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These are my all time favorite cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDCH72

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Some of my “finds” on this site are only as a result of my using the ingredient search for ideas when I have something in particular I need to use – in this case it was cream cheese. If it wasn’t for that necessity I don’t know that I would have actively chosen this recipe, which in the end happily proved to be one of those “finds.” The dough is difficult to work with because it’s sticky and mushy and gooey. The cookie isn’t gooey, as its title describes, but the dough sure is. If I wasn’t so impatient I would have chilled it until good and firm, but who knows – maybe it would have made this a different cookie. I used a French Vanilla cake mix, the flavor of which I believe is far superior to either a white or yellow cake mix (but especially the yellow). I had recently purchased raspberry baking tidbits from Amazon.com and knew this would be a good time to use them – I added just shy of a cup. Because the dough was so soft it was kind of a pain to roll the little mush balls in the powdered sugar, and in hindsight I wouldn’t bother with that step because you couldn’t really see it on the finished cookie anyway. Needless to say, with a stick of butter and an 8-ounce package of cream cheese, these are very rich, soft cookies, but oh are they good, particularly, I think, because of the addition of the raspberry baking tidbits - not sure I’d like these just plain. I think mini chocolate chips as well as any number of other additions would also work well in this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
SOOooooo good! Soft, and delicious! I used white cake mix and it worked just as well. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOUNDMYZEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made these for quite a few people and everyone liked them but several people LOVED them and couldn't get enough. I thought they were delicious and enjoyed having a very different cookie - I have never had a cookie that tasted anything like this. And as a bonus they were very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
My family is originally from St. Louis. We now live in Tennessee, and you can't get gooey butter cake anywhere. I made these cookies for them, and they absolutely loved them! The recipe was so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Living in St. Louis, if you have a great Gooey Butter cake recipe you always need to find a great Gooey Butter cookie recipe too. I made these for my sister after she gave birth to my niece and she said she (and her fiance) couldn't stop eating them...I couldn't either! It was a good thing I doubled the recipe because I don't know how many I ate just out of the oven! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States