Gooey Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Wow. I'm in love. Used chocolate fudge cake mix, added 1 tea vanilla, didn't roll in powdered sugar, just dropped the dough by teaspoon and baked. Definately must put them in the fridge when the cool and enjoy them after they've sat for a bit. Just like Gooey Butter Cake here in the 'Lou!! Gooey and cake like...that's how's it's supposed to be. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I am from St. Louis and a little tip to make these taste more like the cake is using a butter cake mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
These were very yummy, but a little too gooey. I'm not sure if that was something I did, or because of the batter. Husband really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia2242

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Amazing!!! You will
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
We found Gooey Butter Cake on a family vacation to St. Louis several years ago and loved it. When I came across this recipe, I was excited and not all at once. I am what one might call a snob, I won't buy cake mixes. As a general rule it doesn't really save any time and scratch tastes 100 times better. So seeing that this recipe calls for a cake mix I was concerned at the least, but really couldn't figure out how to make it scratch without the mix, so I went to the grocery and bought a mix...my husband laughing the entire time. He said my face had a look of someone smelling a hog farm! Needless to say, I tried this recipe, and was pleasantly surprised that it really did taste like the real Gooey Butter Cake from St. Louis! Is one of my husband's favorites and he asks for them several times a month! Thank you Soap for this fabulous and unique recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These cookies are amazing! Every time I make them, everyone asks for the recipe. I use french vanilla cake mix instead for a bit more vanilla taste. Otherwise, these directions are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Yummy! I just made these with a couple of additions & changes and they are delicious! I used some lemon extract instead of vanilla. I added dried cranberries and white chocolate chips and didn't bother chilling or rolling in powdered sugar. I just scooped them onto the baking tray and about a minute before they were done, I opened the oven and flattened a bit with a fork. We loved these & will make again. I think next time I will make the same way, but maybe also add some chopped nuts and roll them in shredded coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Absolutely delicious, do not overcook, take out at suggested time no matter what they look like. Allow to cool fully before moving. The more you overcook them the less they taste like gooey butter and more like a regular cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDankMiss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made 3 versions using chocolate, spice, & lemon cake mixes. I used a whole tsp of vanilla extract in the chocolate and spice batches and a tsp of lemon extract in the lemon batch. Also, I added chopped pecans to the spiced batch. All were delicious but the lemon was definitely a hit! Scooped out 2tbs size and baked for 15 mins. Delicious and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Love them!! Can't wait to try different varieties. Quick, easy and delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiKi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States