Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was easy and yummy...also addicting. My husband isnt keen on sweets, but he loved this. I took the advice of others and cut back on the sugar in the cream cheese mixture. Will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Gooey butter cake is a wonderful, decadent thing. I used this recipe to introduce this awesome St. Louis tradition to my friends in my now-home of California. It was an absolute hit, though most could not believe St. Louisans actually eat this for breakfast - not dessert. I did two slight alterations. First, I cut the sugar to three and a half cups. And, when I cut it into small slices, I added a small slice of strawberry and kiwi on top - added California flair to a Midwestern delight. It was simply wonderful. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcancook
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
4 cups of powdered sugar? I couldn't make myself do it, so only added 2 1/2. There seemed to be something missing in the topping as I remember from Paula Deen the 1/2 cup of butter to the cream cheese mixture. Well thats why they call it a butter cake you would think so I added it. Very good with those changes, and plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Made this with high expectations.....found myself a bit disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was way too sweet for my husband and me- and I have an outrageous sweet tooth- sounded great but was just WAY too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I love this and it's so easy. I do agree with other reviewers that using less sugar is better. 2½ to 3 cups of confectioner's sugar is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Nowak
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I really like sweet but this is by far too sweet. I think if I make this again I will add another package of cream cheese and cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
5 STAR! NOT ONLY EASY TO MAKE, BUT DELICIOUS. MY FAMILY THOUGHT IT WAS THE BEST THEY HAVE EVER TASTED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Absolutely wonderful prepared exactly by the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I liked this recipe more than I thought I was going to, and I"m glad I decided to make it! I used a golden butter cake mix because that is what I had in the pantry. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was gooey, very sweet, very decadent. My husband said he liked this even better than cream cheese brownies which surpirsed me! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwinsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States