Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Had a great flavor but was way too sticky and sweet. Would have liked it to have a little more cake and less goo. Ended up throwing 3/4 of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
We call this "Neiman Marcus Bars" at our house...but whatever you call it it is absolutely to DIE for!! I use duncan hines butter golden cake mix and it's buttery and smooth. Wonderfully delicious and the hit of every holiday gathering. It's simple to prepare and is usually gone before any other desserts are gone from the sweets table! My mother-in-law says it's not christmas without this dessert. 5 stars aren't enough for this one! Be prepared to share the recipe if you show up with this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is the BEST recipe for my favorite dessert. Warning: do not overcook. My oven runs hotter than some. I remove this when its just starting to lightly brown on top. Otherwise it tends to dry out and lose that awesome gooeyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
So very bad for you and yet sooooo very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
pure awesomeness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkniker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is the perfect recipe for the St. Louis classic! I used this recipe my first time making Gooey Butter Cake and it was exactly what I hoped it would be. Very easy and the cake lasts longer than most cakes (without spoiling/going stale).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Delicious! The bottom layer was a little dry, but still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made this cake for my step kids, a 5yr and 11yr old. They didn't like it to much. They said it was to sweet, but the thing is I only used 2 cups of confectioners' sugar. Their dad said it was too rich. Other than the amount of sugar I also used 1 egg in the cake batter and 1 egg in the cream cheese mixture. Personally I like this recipe, however it is really too sweet, but I will make it again with the following changes: 1.5 cups confectioner's sugar and 2tbsp lemon juice in the cream cheese mixture. I may even consider halving the recipe, cutting the pieces into very small pieces so I won't have alot leftover on my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makeda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These were more like bars than cake - good but really sweet. I love sweet desserts but this had a really strong powdered sugar aftertaste. I think there is a version floating around that adds the juice of a lemon, I think that would cut down on the sweetness and add a new flavor dimension with the lemon. I'm still rating this 4 stars since it went over well at a recent gathering. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
The search has stopped here. This is the best butter cake. I made it the first time according to the original recipe and found the base too dry and the cheese topping too sweet. The second time, I increased the butter to 1 cup and reduced the sugar by half...the result was an awesomely some, buttery cake with a moist and delicious cheese topping...lovely! This one is a keeper and dh even asked me to make another to give to the neighbours! I made it for mom and she has not stopped raving since...everyone who has tried it asked for the recipe. With these 2 alterations, this one is a winner! Thanks Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States