Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Used a bit less powdered sugar as advised by other reviewers, but I think it would be just as good with the full amount. This is an amazing dessert and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Followed directions exactly, turned out great. BIL has been complaining about not being able to find decent gooey butter cake; had only praise from him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This was way too sweet. I will cut the sugar down to 2 cups next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
We used this recipe for our Marquette HS Band Camp. We adjusted the recipe for 90 servings. It turned out perfectly! As the kitchen coordinator for the Band I have begun to receive e-mails from parents for the recipe. It is a hit and perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I didn't have yellow cake mix, so i used strawberry cake mix. I also didn't have vanilla extract, so i used 1/2 the amount with almond extract. The cake was amazing! It was a hit! My family finished it in less than 2 days. The thing is, if you don't like sweets, and you're on a diet, this is not the cake for you ;) But it tastes fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooKing Mama
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I had seen some reviews of this cake before, but either didn't have all the different ingredients, or wasn't in the mood to bake. Today I baked. This is a really sweet cake, but it's really delicious! I made it just as it is in the recipe above and I will keep this one. I think it would be really good with some strawberries, peaches, or blueberries on the side. I'm impressed! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Young Llopis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I tried the recipe, made it years ago and had been looking for the recipe! It seems a bit sweeter, however, if I were to top it with fruit, I would not advise serving it drenched in syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I had a go at making this cake yesterday....I think it should be renamed as a Pudding.....there was no way to slice this cake up and serve... just had to scoop it out and plonk it on the plate. You have to like really sweet things to enjoy it. One piece was quite enough, and no going back for a second "slice". I don't think I will try again any time soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
As is this is reallllllllllly sweet. I decreased the sugar the second time around to 2 cups and it was still too sweet(for me) so next time i will do one cup and maybe a chocolate cake bottom......u cant go wrong with chocolate cheesecake....just sayin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I wasn't overly impressed with this. It came out of the oven beautifully cooked, it smelled divine and I was thinking wow this is going to be so good! I made it according to the recipe except that I cut the sugar back to 2 cups, but when I tried it, it just seemed too plain. I finally made a tart blueberry sauce to drizzle over it to cut the overwhelming sugar taste and that seemed to make it more appealing. I think maybe its just too sweet for me. Still, it is easy to make and if you like really sweet things, this is a good recipe to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States