Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I have made this and GOOEY BUTTER CAKE I. I prefer this recipe over the other, but this receipe is about 300% sweeter. I took both cakes to work for a potluck and 9/1 this cake was the winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
WE HAVE MADE THIS RECIPE SINCE THE EARLY 80'S. IT IS ALWAYS A BIG HIT. FOR A DIFFERENT TASTE YOU CAN ADD COCONUT AND/OR CHOPPED PECANS TO THE "CRUST" MIXTURE. THIS CAKE IS MUCH BETTER IF ALLOWED TO SIT FOR 24 HOURS BEFORE CUTTING. THE FLAVOR SEEMS TO INTENSIFY OVER TIME. DON'T EXPECT ANY LEFTOVERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Best gooey butter cake ive ever made!! I just took it out of the oven and I cant stop eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This is an easy recipe. Great for potlucks or get-togethers. I add lemon zest sometimes. Have had a request for the recipe everytime I make it. Love it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHYGRIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This is it! I grew up in Philadelphia and butter cake was a favorite in my house. I moved to Atlanta 3 years ago and I couldn't find it anywhere. I tried this recipe yesterday for a bunch of relatives that have also moved from Philly and they agreed that it was just like home. So if you've been searching for a gooey butter cake recipe this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMN1221

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Oh this cake is SO good. I cut back on the powdered sugar, using 3 cups. Although it was still sweet, it was moist and delicious. I will be making this cake again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
These were the hit of the afternoon! The husband loved them and asked for me to bake them again. These were a definite hit among not only him but also the guests at the tea party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Easy to make and delicious. I also used only 3 cups of powdered sugar and it was enough. I think 4 cups would make it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
The best Gooey Butter Cake recipe yet - EVERYONE raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Legend says that the original "Gooey Butter Cake" recipe originated from my home state of Missouri. Having said that, I have obviously tried various versions of this cake both store bought and homemade. This cake however is sweeter than any I have tasted! Easy to make! You will enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States