Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
WE HAVE MADE THIS RECIPE SINCE THE EARLY 80'S. IT IS ALWAYS A BIG HIT. FOR A DIFFERENT TASTE YOU CAN ADD COCONUT AND/OR CHOPPED PECANS TO THE "CRUST" MIXTURE. THIS CAKE IS MUCH BETTER IF ALLOWED TO SIT FOR 24 HOURS BEFORE CUTTING. THE FLAVOR SEEMS TO INTENSIFY OVER TIME. DON'T EXPECT ANY LEFTOVERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheri O.
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Delicious! Helpful tip: others complained about the difficulty of getting the dough into the pan - just mix it all in the pan and it spreads easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcastle
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Oh Yeah! I know I have died and gone to heaven with this Cake. Absolutely the best cake and I know that my co-workers will simply rave about this cake. You simply cannot appreciate how good this cake is if you skimp on the recipe. Yes, it is very rich but oooooooooohhhhh sssssoooooooo good! At 350 Degrees Baked for 35 minutes. The crust around the edges is just right. I just love this recipe and plan on making this cake again and again. This is absolutely a KEEPER! I will certainly be adding a photo of this masterpiece of a RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcastle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This is by far the best version! ANd, it is better to use golden yellow cake mix than a butter yellow cake mix!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Excellent! It brought back memories of growing up in St. Louis and having Gooey Butter cake on weekend mornings. I served it at a gathering for some of my east coast friends who had never heard of it, and I think they are now hooked! I did cut back on the powedered sugar since the recipe is already quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
Beware if you don't like really sweet things! I thought it was an awful lot of sugar when I was making them, and I was right. I brought them to work, and after eating them, we re-named them "sugar bars". If I make them again, I will use a lemon cake mix to help cut the sweetness and use half the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I have looked for this recipe for ages! WONDERFUL! My husband took one taste and almost died of happiness! It's like a cross between cheesecake and moist cake. If you want to cut the sweet a bit, do what I do - five minutes before it's done, gently place some pecan halves on top of the cake and finish baking. The pecans get toasty and crunchy, and it's a nice addition. If you want it super-sweet, then dust with additional powdered sugar. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
The search has stopped here. This is the best butter cake. I made it the first time according to the original recipe and found the base too dry and the cheese topping too sweet. The second time, I increased the butter to 1 cup and reduced the sugar by half...the result was an awesomely some, buttery cake with a moist and delicious cheese topping...lovely! This one is a keeper and dh even asked me to make another to give to the neighbours! I made it for mom and she has not stopped raving since...everyone who has tried it asked for the recipe. With these 2 alterations, this one is a winner! Thanks Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
It was very Gooey, But perfect. I did like Cookies suggested and turned the oven down to 325 since i was using a non stick pan and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki The Great

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I have tried other recipes for this same "cake" on this website, and this is by FAR the best one! Make sure to put them in the fridge before you eat them . . . they're even better cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States