Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very good after you take the crunchy top off of it.I have lived in the St. Louis area my whole life and has NEVER seen a gooey butter cake look like this (and it is not traditional at all) It made a toasted marshmallow look crust on the top and almost impossible to pull the cake away from the pan. Next time I will add a small amount of PAM and like the others had said bake at 325 or 350 for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DottieS

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was easy and yummy...also addicting. My husband isnt keen on sweets, but he loved this. I took the advice of others and cut back on the sugar in the cream cheese mixture. Will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Gooey butter cake is a wonderful, decadent thing. I used this recipe to introduce this awesome St. Louis tradition to my friends in my now-home of California. It was an absolute hit, though most could not believe St. Louisans actually eat this for breakfast - not dessert. I did two slight alterations. First, I cut the sugar to three and a half cups. And, when I cut it into small slices, I added a small slice of strawberry and kiwi on top - added California flair to a Midwestern delight. It was simply wonderful. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcancook
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
4 cups of powdered sugar? I couldn't make myself do it, so only added 2 1/2. There seemed to be something missing in the topping as I remember from Paula Deen the 1/2 cup of butter to the cream cheese mixture. Well thats why they call it a butter cake you would think so I added it. Very good with those changes, and plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Made this with high expectations.....found myself a bit disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was way too sweet for my husband and me- and I have an outrageous sweet tooth- sounded great but was just WAY too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I love this and it's so easy. I do agree with other reviewers that using less sugar is better. 2½ to 3 cups of confectioner's sugar is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Nowak
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I really like sweet but this is by far too sweet. I think if I make this again I will add another package of cream cheese and cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
5 STAR! NOT ONLY EASY TO MAKE, BUT DELICIOUS. MY FAMILY THOUGHT IT WAS THE BEST THEY HAVE EVER TASTED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Absolutely wonderful prepared exactly by the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States