Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I didn't have yellow cake mix, so i used strawberry cake mix. I also didn't have vanilla extract, so i used 1/2 the amount with almond extract. The cake was amazing! It was a hit! My family finished it in less than 2 days. The thing is, if you don't like sweets, and you're on a diet, this is not the cake for you ;) But it tastes fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooKing Mama
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I had seen some reviews of this cake before, but either didn't have all the different ingredients, or wasn't in the mood to bake. Today I baked. This is a really sweet cake, but it's really delicious! I made it just as it is in the recipe above and I will keep this one. I think it would be really good with some strawberries, peaches, or blueberries on the side. I'm impressed! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I tried the recipe, made it years ago and had been looking for the recipe! It seems a bit sweeter, however, if I were to top it with fruit, I would not advise serving it drenched in syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I had a go at making this cake yesterday....I think it should be renamed as a Pudding.....there was no way to slice this cake up and serve... just had to scoop it out and plonk it on the plate. You have to like really sweet things to enjoy it. One piece was quite enough, and no going back for a second "slice". I don't think I will try again any time soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
As is this is reallllllllllly sweet. I decreased the sugar the second time around to 2 cups and it was still too sweet(for me) so next time i will do one cup and maybe a chocolate cake bottom......u cant go wrong with chocolate cheesecake....just sayin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I wasn't overly impressed with this. It came out of the oven beautifully cooked, it smelled divine and I was thinking wow this is going to be so good! I made it according to the recipe except that I cut the sugar back to 2 cups, but when I tried it, it just seemed too plain. I finally made a tart blueberry sauce to drizzle over it to cut the overwhelming sugar taste and that seemed to make it more appealing. I think maybe its just too sweet for me. Still, it is easy to make and if you like really sweet things, this is a good recipe to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
OMG! This recipe is amazing. I am so going to have to hide this cake from my family or it wont last through the night! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: New River, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I don't use all the powdered sugar b/c I think in general we consume too much sugar. I cut it all the way down to 2 3/4 or 3 cups. Also, I put 1/2 teas. of almond flavoring in the cake and the filling w/ 1/2 teas. vanilla in each. It truly is a fab Oooey Gooey Butter Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was good. I did reduce the powdered sugar to 3 cups based on other reviews. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Tasty and addictive! Everyone loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States