Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
First, if your a diabetic and want to commit suicide or a kid that loves obscenely sugary snacks make this dish. If you still wanting to make this use 1/2 cup of sugar. If this was created by Paula Dean she should be charged with a crime against humanity and tried at Neuburg. This is the worst dish I have ever made. The people that liked this rubbish need some sort of professional help.I tried dumbing it down with bananas and milk and it still sucked. Next, I learned to read the reviews before trying something new and always read the bad reviews first. What a waste of ingredients Lastly never again!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Nutter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Actually, this recipe has been around a very long time. In the late 60s and 70s, my mother made this fairly regularly. I have to give it 5 stars to honor my mom and all the mothers of baby boomers who baked this delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
The filling was terribly...'eggy' and I followed the direction. It didn't taste bad, it just had a very unpalatable texture. The cake crust was fantastic, though. I was able to scoop out the cream cheese and replace it with ice cream and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I have been wanting to try this....now my craving has been quenched by a not so good recipe. This was overly sweet and had an odd taste to it. NOT a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Made this recipe for my youngest sons birthday. I read many reviews before making it. This recipe was beyond easy & quick. After reading many reviews before hand I decided to pretty much stick to the recipe with the exception of using vanilla extract instead of almond, simply because vanilla is what I had on hand. I braced myself for the warnings about it being too sweet....well, the cake turned out fantastic! My cooking time was pretty close to 45 min in a 9x13 pan. As far as sweetness, I think it boils down to personal preference, it was quite sweet but ice cream or milk helped to balance it out. However, I could easily imagine using less sugar & it still tasting scrumtious. Also mixing the bowl that contains the cream cheese for @ least 3 min as it states (it should thicken) is important to the layers cooking more separately & not all coming together during the cooking process. This is a very tasty dessert, my husband & kids loved it & so did I!! The bottom layer more like a bar, top is more of a moist cake texture. Now that I have followed the recipe almost by the book, I now feel more confident to be more creative with it next time:). Thanks V. Monte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Easy and delish. I omitted the almond, as I had none and used lemon extract. It was great. Today I am going to make it, but use a choc cake mix instead. We will see. I bet it's delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I've been making, using the same ingredients, minus about half of the sugar. However, ya'll work WAY too hard at this. If you go ahead and mix all of the ingredients, it still comes out just like you'd made the crust and filling separate. That's why I only gave it 4 stars....you're working too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Wieting

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
My family loves this recipe! We enjoy it most after it's been cut into bars and refrigerated--a tasty, chilled treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
All I gotta say is...amazingly delicious! Not that huge of a sweets fan, but this was yummy, yummy and did I mention Yummy? It is so NOT good for you, but dang it, lets be honest..we all love butter and no matter how you rationalize it to yourself...you gotta love this cake! Thanks for sharing! It is a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSHELLZ2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States