Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I made this for my inlaws over the weekend. I reserved some of the crust mix and spinkled it on top of the cream cheese mixture to add a little more visual appeal. Everyone loved it and said "it was a keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Yum! Turned out more like a thick bar cookie than a cake, but it's delish! I baked mine about 5-7 minutes less than recipe said - it was browned by then. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
This was fantastic. I baked it for a little less than the recipe called for, maybe 5-10 minutes less. Next time I will make sure that I don't forget to hit the sides of the pan with the cooking spray, I wasn't paying attention and only sprayed the bottom, and the cake really stuck to the sides. Besides that, it was a wonderful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Excellent. This was a hit with my family and our dinner guests. I would like to try it with vanilla or maybe lemon extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I wasn't to sure about this recipe, but I needed something for our church fellowship and I had all these ingrediants, soooo...IT is fantastic! Everyone raved about how good it was! There was none left to bring home, that is the best rating there is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Excellent! It brought back memories fo growing up in St. Louis and having Gooey Butter cake on weekend mornings. I served it at a gathering for some of my east coast friends who had never heard of it, and I think they are now hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
YUM YUM, although I added a touch more cream cheese as others had recommended, and would probably use the vanilla extract next time, instead of almond, but yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe as is, but I made several altercations and it turned out even more fabulous than this original version. Perhaps cinnamon would be a nice addition?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
A friend and I made this dessert for the first time at Thanksgiving. We have one word for it... FABULOUS!! Next time I'll shave 5-10 minutes off the baking time. It got a little too brown on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
I made a pumpkin version of this for the holidays - to the filling I added 1 15 oz can pumpkin, another 1/2 c butter, 1 tsp cinnamon & nutmeg. It was outstanding! Like so many have said, it is a very rich recipe - had the consistency of pumpkin fudge, really - but it is a crowd pleaser, indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States