Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2000
A simple recipe with great results! It was easy and quick. I didn't have a yellow cake mix on hand, so I substituted a white cake mix. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
Very simple, but a very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Yum! Turned out more like a thick bar cookie than a cake, but it's delish! I baked mine about 5-7 minutes less than recipe said - it was browned by then. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I made this for my inlaws over the weekend. I reserved some of the crust mix and spinkled it on top of the cream cheese mixture to add a little more visual appeal. Everyone loved it and said "it was a keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Excellent. This was a hit with my family and our dinner guests. I would like to try it with vanilla or maybe lemon extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
This was fantastic. I baked it for a little less than the recipe called for, maybe 5-10 minutes less. Next time I will make sure that I don't forget to hit the sides of the pan with the cooking spray, I wasn't paying attention and only sprayed the bottom, and the cake really stuck to the sides. Besides that, it was a wonderful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I wasn't to sure about this recipe, but I needed something for our church fellowship and I had all these ingrediants, soooo...IT is fantastic! Everyone raved about how good it was! There was none left to bring home, that is the best rating there is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Excellent! It brought back memories fo growing up in St. Louis and having Gooey Butter cake on weekend mornings. I served it at a gathering for some of my east coast friends who had never heard of it, and I think they are now hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This is more of a bar cookie than a cake. I thought it was very good and definitely SWEET! Which is why I gave it a 4 instead of 5. I almost never cut a 9x13 pan into 24 small pieces, but I did this time, any bigger would be too much. I used egg substitute and fat free cream cheese, if I made it again I would probably try to cut the powdered sugar down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Followed the recipe to the 'T', but for some reason it got overdone (baked for 45 minutes at 350). It still tastes DELICIOUS, but next time I'll try decreasing my baking time to 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYFIRELYGHT
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States