Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Super great! Decreased sugar to 2 cups....perfect. Cooked for 37 mins. and would recommend 5 mins. less. The bottom layer was a little brown for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Was very disappointed with this cake for all of the time,calories, etc, It did not do it for us. My husband who really loves his cake, had one piece and told me to dump the rest. Will not try this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Fantastic!! I am 9 months pregnant, and boy did this recipe hit the spot for my sweet craving. I also cut down the sugar (2 cups) as recommended by some others and added 1/4 c lemon juice to the cream cheese mixture. Gave a lovely tang to offset the sweetness. Couldn't quite wait for the cake to cool, have never had gooey butter cake before and was dying of curiosity, and was amazed at the scrumptios chewy crust- hope this remains the same even when cool. Baby and I thank you again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Very tasty, I would prefer less nutmeg but my dad loves it like that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wintercook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is very simple and good. If I were to make a Gooey Butter Cake again it would be a variation of this for example Paula Deen's Elvis Gooey Butter Cake which has peanut butter and bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years. My 20 year old son doesn't like any cakes except for this one. He has asked for this cake for every one of his birthdays since he was 17 years old. Every time I have a party or am invited to a party, I have to make this cake--love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy's favs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Florida, USA
Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Made this for the Four Year Old Butter Monster. And, ohhhh Man: This is awesome! But, don't take my word for it... Just make it! My slight mod's: BUTTER Yellow cake mix / Neufchatel Cream Cheese (gotta save calories 'n' fat somehow...) / and only 2 cups of the sugar. Keepin' this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was very good, and I brought it in for the guys at work, and they all loved it, although they did say it was very very rich and very sweet. I followed the recipe exactly, except I did cut the sugar to 3 cups, and think next time I will cut it back to 2 cups. It was very gooey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made this in 1999, when V. Monte originally had it posted on "AllRecipes.com presents Cakerecipe.com." (Does Cakerecipe.com still exist?) It goes by many names, and has many variations --chocolate, pumpkin, etc.(see Paula Deen's recipes on FoodNetwork). Don't overbake this! The word "cake" is deceiving, so when you bake this don't think something's wrong when it stays gooey--that's exactly how it's supposed to be. It is a soft, gooey, bar-like dessert that, while tasty, was much too sweet for my liking. It was okay, but after making this in '99, I didn't consider it a "keeper," and I never made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Cut the sugar in half and it's perfect. Maybe a fresh lemon juice to the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States