Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Was told it was like “crack” – I am assuming that was a COMPLIMENT!?! I did what others suggested: DOUBLED the recipe and added some milk to cake mix part to make more moist, also used a Chocolate Mix. Added a little more Almond extract, and LESS Powdered sugar, and put crushed pecans on top. Used a smaller, deeper glass dish and then I got the rave reviews “can’t get enough” when I sent it to the fire station with my husband! They said out of all of the desserts I send, this one tops them ALL !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Delish! A hit at the church picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
YUM! This was very tasty, very rich and sweet, so you can't eat too much at a time. I didn't have almond extract so I just used vanilla instead and it turned out delicious. I would love to try it with different cake mixes, chocolate would probably be SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acyland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I just made this and i like it. Cons is i really dont taste the cream cheese and its kind of sweet. I'd give it a B+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
i overcooked this a bit, so it wasn't all that gooey, but it was still ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. i forgot the extract, and only used 3 3/4 cups of sugar because i didn't want to open another box. still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
wow this is actualy paula deens recipe. she says it is her most popular dessert! she says: "1. for the holidays add a 15 ounce can of pumpkin to the filling; add cinnamon and nutmeg. 2. add a 20 ounce can of drained crished pinnaple to the filling 3. use a lemon cake mix add lemon zest and juice to the filling. 4. use a chocolate cake mix in the cream cheese filling add chocolate chips and nuts to the top. 5. use a spiced corrot cake mix, add chopped nut and shredded corrots to the filling. 6. use mandarin oranges, bananas, blueberries, or strawberries-just coordinate you extract flavorings. 7. use a chocolate cake mix. add 3/4 to a 1 cup of peanut butter and nuts to the filling." great recipe for to ALL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This tastes so good and it's so bad for you! Save it for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I made this and took it to work. I do alter recipes to kind of create my own thing... but I had several people beg for the recipe. Before I took it into work, my husband ate 3 pieces and told me to get it out of the house before it killed both of our diets!! It lasted less than 2 hours at work!! Wonderful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Its really really good. I have made some other vershions of theis cake and there wasn't enuff powdered sugar.Well this one has a little too much, so I just used 3 cups and the sweetness was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was good, but very rich. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartington, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States