Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Was told it was like “crack” – I am assuming that was a COMPLIMENT!?! I did what others suggested: DOUBLED the recipe and added some milk to cake mix part to make more moist, also used a Chocolate Mix. Added a little more Almond extract, and LESS Powdered sugar, and put crushed pecans on top. Used a smaller, deeper glass dish and then I got the rave reviews “can’t get enough” when I sent it to the fire station with my husband! They said out of all of the desserts I send, this one tops them ALL !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Delish! A hit at the church picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
YUM! This was very tasty, very rich and sweet, so you can't eat too much at a time. I didn't have almond extract so I just used vanilla instead and it turned out delicious. I would love to try it with different cake mixes, chocolate would probably be SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acyland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I just made this and i like it. Cons is i really dont taste the cream cheese and its kind of sweet. I'd give it a B+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
i overcooked this a bit, so it wasn't all that gooey, but it was still ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. i forgot the extract, and only used 3 3/4 cups of sugar because i didn't want to open another box. still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
wow this is actualy paula deens recipe. she says it is her most popular dessert! she says: "1. for the holidays add a 15 ounce can of pumpkin to the filling; add cinnamon and nutmeg. 2. add a 20 ounce can of drained crished pinnaple to the filling 3. use a lemon cake mix add lemon zest and juice to the filling. 4. use a chocolate cake mix in the cream cheese filling add chocolate chips and nuts to the top. 5. use a spiced corrot cake mix, add chopped nut and shredded corrots to the filling. 6. use mandarin oranges, bananas, blueberries, or strawberries-just coordinate you extract flavorings. 7. use a chocolate cake mix. add 3/4 to a 1 cup of peanut butter and nuts to the filling." great recipe for to ALL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This tastes so good and it's so bad for you! Save it for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I made this and took it to work. I do alter recipes to kind of create my own thing... but I had several people beg for the recipe. Before I took it into work, my husband ate 3 pieces and told me to get it out of the house before it killed both of our diets!! It lasted less than 2 hours at work!! Wonderful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Its really really good. I have made some other vershions of theis cake and there wasn't enuff powdered sugar.Well this one has a little too much, so I just used 3 cups and the sweetness was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was good, but very rich. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartington, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States