Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Thanks for the recipe I used only 2 Cups of powdered sugar the tasted is great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nawal F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
OH it's soooo good... think i will try adding some coconut next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasonBakes4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Awesome cake! Have had issues in the past with the edges overcooking, but then I decided to use the convection button on my oven...PERFECT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I should have listened to the reviews that said 2-3 cups powdered sugar were plenty! I used 4 cups - and while it was good and people ate it, it was just too sweet....and I never say that! I would make again, but next time, I'll probably only use 2 cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This is an awesome recipe that is more like cookie bars than cake. I got this recipe from my grandma with the following changes, make it this way and it will be 'to die for'. Line your pan with foil. Make the crust as directed. Add another stick of butter and 2 cups of chopped pecans to the filling, skip the vanilla extract, use about 3 cups powdered sugar. Cook for 45 min to 1 hour, just until browned, and let cool, wrap in the foil and refrigerate overnight. Next day slice into bars and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
My husband says to give it 5 stars...but I do find it too sweet even though I cut the sugar amount in half. I will definitely make this again and look forward to trying it with lemon flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Citronelle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montevallo, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This is a great, easy cake that's super sweet and creamy. As another reviewer mentioned, this is actually a Paula Dean recipe. I add about one teaspoon of vanilla to my bottom crust and follow the rest of the recipe exactly, baking for approx. 45 minutes. The cake tastes buttery and rich; a small piece is enough, so it goes a long way. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is quite good, though very, very sweet. You really can't eat more than a small piece each time, but wow is that piece good while you're eating it. The only reason I'm giving this four stars instead of five is that as good as this is, my family and I were just unable to finish off the pan (even though we've been working at it for awhile) because they're just that sweet and rich. If I could give it four and a half I would, since that fact doesn't really deserve a full star off. I'm tempted to try a bit less sugar next time because of this, though I don't think I would cut it in half as some have. Mine was baked to perfection at 35 minutes. This is also more like a bar cookie than a cake, despite the name. I do think this would also be quite good with other cake mixes and even other extracts to change the flavor slightly, and would definitely make this again. Just keep in mind that this is an extremely sweet, rich dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
OMG!!! So good, very sweet but everyone loves it. I have to make myself stop eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Was told it was like “crack” – I am assuming that was a COMPLIMENT!?! I did what others suggested: DOUBLED the recipe and added some milk to cake mix part to make more moist, also used a Chocolate Mix. Added a little more Almond extract, and LESS Powdered sugar, and put crushed pecans on top. Used a smaller, deeper glass dish and then I got the rave reviews “can’t get enough” when I sent it to the fire station with my husband! They said out of all of the desserts I send, this one tops them ALL !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States