Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I love this stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I made this for the first time yesterday and it was DELICIOUS! The only thing is make sure you do not put too much almond extract, it is very sweet and very good.... YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is a sweet, yummy dessert. I should have spread the cake mix mixture up the sides of the pan because my cakes ended up having more crust than goo. I only used 3 cups of sugar per other reviews, which could also account for the goo shortage. Had to use vanilla in place of almond extract. Only baked about 40min and probably could have gone 5min less and still have been okay. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
It was ok,too sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missdeena
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Awesome cake. Does not look as good as it tastes. Believe it or not, the longer it sits (3 days) the better it tastes. This must have been caused by using a high quality butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is a very popular breakfast item in st. louis. Instead of using it as a dessert after a meal, serve it like a coffe cake in the morning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I just discovered gooey cake at a church luncheon about 6 months ago. It was a great dessert and I meant to look it up, but kept forgetting. I found this recipe last week randomly and was very surprised at how easy it was and how few ingredients it required. I have made it a few times...once using a plain yellow cake mix (very good) and every other time using a golden butter cake mix (this is preferred by my family). My family and I found this to be a heavenly dessert and just like we remembered from church. I will be making this for family functions and cookouts from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I don't normally bake so I made this for my boyfriend's birthday and it was amazing! Since he's on a bit of a diet I thought I would half all the ingredients for the cream cheese topping. (I only ended up using two eggs for the entire cake). It turned out great this way, I think it would have been too sweet with all of the second layer. Also topped it with freshly cut up strawberries! I will definitely keep this recipe handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
My daughter's mother-in-law here in Chattanooga makes this recipe, although she uses four eggs rather than three. Local grocery stores sell it from their delis.Old-timers refer to it as "Chess Squares."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
it was good but the cake part burned. other than that it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States