Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
WOW. That's all I can say. This was a sinful, delightful dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
My girlfriend made this for a party and it was SOOO delicious, I made it the next night for my family. It is sinfully delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimblyn Horton Begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great recipe...very simple. I had read the review prior to making this and someone had mentioned the listed cooking time was too long. I am very glad I took note of this because 45-50 minutes is way too long. I pulled mine at 30 minutes and depending on how chewy you like the crust I would start checking it at 25 minutes. I also only used 1/2 the amount of almond extract but added 1/8 tsp of vanilla extract. My co-workers are enjoying it as we speak!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samrn80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Missouri, USA
Living In: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Gooey Butter Cake was invented here in my home town of St. Louis, MO. With all the specialty bakeries you don't dare bring one to a party that isn't stellar. With that said, I would put this recipe up against any of the bakeries. You do need to keep a close eye on the crust, in my oven about 30 to 35 min was plenty. In fact maybe just a touch too much as the crust got a little darker, not burnt, just darker than I would have liked. I am going to try one with browned butter, pumpkin, lemon and candied ginger. I guess what I'm trying to say is I like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Oh yes, this is delicious! The only change I made was to use 3 cups of powdered sugar instead of 4. I can't wait to try it again with pumpkin. We devoured this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Cook time on this is way too long. I checked it 10 minutes early, and it was already overdone. Ruined the cake. Will use another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
HEAVEN!!! Perfect! Don't change a thing. I LOVE this recipe and so does everyone I've shared it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I am a dessert snob. Just want to give you a point of reference. I made this today, following the crust directions exactly. When I got to the part about 4 cups of confectioner's sugar, "oh no" I had one cup. I used one cup with the package of cream cheese and then added just one egg to the topping instead of two. Baked it for 30 minutes in a 325 convection oven. "heaven".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Rayle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is addictive. i live alone and I hardly go three or four days without one in the house. My grandchildren and my daughter love it. My co-workers and my church members and neighbors love it. Its easy to make, its fun to make. I tried it with yellow mix first. Then devil's food, then triple fudge. Then I tried a store brand devil's food mix that seems to be more moist and easier to press in the pan. O yea, I swap out and combine vanilla/almond flavorings. Grease the bottom of the pan with a softened stick of butter and then put about a half-a-cup of grated coconut in the topping. Again, addictive and in demand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States