Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
First time making this. I did change a couple things. I added 1/2 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder to the filling cuz I am a chocoholic, I only had 1 egg for the filling so I added about 1/4 cup of whole milk to add a bit of moisture since I omitted an egg and added the cocoa powder. It IS very sweet so I will decrease the powdered sugar next time by a cup but OMG it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I just made this and oooohhhh how very good! It reminds me of the one Paula Dean makes. This is pretty simple and so classic! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Simple and delicious just as written Also was awesome for the holidays with a 15 ounce can of pumpkin cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Super sweet and always a hit for my family when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coreena
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I love this recipe! Not only is it easy it's so tastey too! I added blueberries on the top and ti was AWESOME! I will definately make this again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
this turned out really well. I too baked it for about 7 minutes less then the time suggested. It was perfect. I also put only 3 cups of sugar instead of 4. I think the 4th cup would have made it too sweet. My son said it was "too rich" The almond taste is so pronounced, I think this would be great with pears baked on top of it....next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was way too sweet for me. If I were to make it again I'd cut out some of the confectioners sugar. Also, I only had an 8x11 pan and it was too thick and didn't set up well. Definitely use a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYCHRISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
An easy and people pleasing receipe. The almond extract really makes the difference. It is impossible to only eat one piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by h82cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I remember this recipe from my childhood in the late 70's. Thank you V. Monte for taking be back. My family loves this cake, I've been making it for years. There are tons of variations, but this one is my family's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
oh wow this was so good i made chess cake last night this and chess cake is the same i didnt put 4 cups powered sugar this time cuz it was way to sweet i put 1 cup powred surar perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyspelts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States