Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I thought this was good (but nothing exceptional) - my husband thought it was excellent. I'm glad I read the reviews, because 4 cups of sugar would have been waaaayyy too much! I used 2 cups, and will probably cut it down to 1.5 cups next time. It's very easy and quick to make - and I think you can probably use any flavor cake mix you have on hand - as a matter of fact, I might try it with spice or carrot cake mix next time, just to change it up a bit. I used the almond extract the recipe calls for, and it was a very nice touch. When I make it with a different cake mix, I will probably substitute vanilla instead. I will keep this recipe to have on hand when I need a quick brunch dish or when we have overnight guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Wow Wanted something a bit different for friends. Had a spice cake mix, used that and baked in muffin cups. Wonderful, portion controlled, and easy to bring to buffet. Thanks for posting..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Made almost sugar free by using 1/2 C stevia powder and 3/4 C coconut sugar. I also added some cinnamon & used vanilla instead. Came out very sweet but not too sweet. Just right. Might make completely sugar free by using a sugar free box cake mix. Was done in 30 mins. Oh I also added 1/4 C extra melted butter to the Cream cheese mixture before baking. Very addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This recipe is one of the best and easiest desserts I have ever made. I do bake it for less time than the recipe calls for. Baking it for about 30 minutes is just right for a 9 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Awesome cake.. I use this recipe all the time, everyone loves it! ...don't forget the almond extract! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamBam
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
okay this came out looking horrible but tasted great with strawberries and topping on top my dad even said this is good this more like a cross between a cheese cake and a cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay@Home.Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Great Recipe! I used a Butter Recipe cake mix & it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Made this for the holiday weekend and it was a big hit. Will defiantely make this again. Goes a long way because its very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
So simple, but SO good! Made exactly as specified, except used vanilla instead of almond extract. Everyone loves this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I prefer less sugar in the cream cheese layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States