Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I thought this was good (but nothing exceptional) - my husband thought it was excellent. I'm glad I read the reviews, because 4 cups of sugar would have been waaaayyy too much! I used 2 cups, and will probably cut it down to 1.5 cups next time. It's very easy and quick to make - and I think you can probably use any flavor cake mix you have on hand - as a matter of fact, I might try it with spice or carrot cake mix next time, just to change it up a bit. I used the almond extract the recipe calls for, and it was a very nice touch. When I make it with a different cake mix, I will probably substitute vanilla instead. I will keep this recipe to have on hand when I need a quick brunch dish or when we have overnight guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Wow Wanted something a bit different for friends. Had a spice cake mix, used that and baked in muffin cups. Wonderful, portion controlled, and easy to bring to buffet. Thanks for posting..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Made almost sugar free by using 1/2 C stevia powder and 3/4 C coconut sugar. I also added some cinnamon & used vanilla instead. Came out very sweet but not too sweet. Just right. Might make completely sugar free by using a sugar free box cake mix. Was done in 30 mins. Oh I also added 1/4 C extra melted butter to the Cream cheese mixture before baking. Very addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This recipe is one of the best and easiest desserts I have ever made. I do bake it for less time than the recipe calls for. Baking it for about 30 minutes is just right for a 9 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Awesome cake.. I use this recipe all the time, everyone loves it! ...don't forget the almond extract! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamBam
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
okay this came out looking horrible but tasted great with strawberries and topping on top my dad even said this is good this more like a cross between a cheese cake and a cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Great Recipe! I used a Butter Recipe cake mix & it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Made this for the holiday weekend and it was a big hit. Will defiantely make this again. Goes a long way because its very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
So simple, but SO good! Made exactly as specified, except used vanilla instead of almond extract. Everyone loves this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I prefer less sugar in the cream cheese layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States