Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
The best thing about this recipe is how easy and quick it is to make. It is good but very sweet, as others already warned. I used a 1-lb. box of powdered sugar which, according to the box, is 1/4 cup shy of the 4 cups the recipe calls for, but I don't think I would have wanted any more powdered sugar in it. I think I will try it again but with some of the flavor variations that other reviewers have suggested. Who knows, with some tweaking, I may come back with a 5-star rating. I sprayed the bottom and sides of the pan very liberally with PAM and there was absolutely no problem with it sticking. I baked it for only 40 minutes and even that was almost too long. Overall, I'm very pleased with this recipe and it's a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Delicious and SO easy. I used 1 tsp. vanilla instead of almond extract, and it turned out perfect. I'll be making again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Just great! I used a strawberry cake mix instead of the yellow. I like the almond extract- in the past I've used similiar recipes with vanilla, but I will go with almond from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Tastes pretty good (very sweet). I baked it for 45 min. Turned out pretty well but there is a hard crust on the top. Might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WICKEDSS
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I turned this cake into a Thanksgiving Day dessert by adding a can of pumpkin to the cream cheese mixture, along with a teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg and used vanilla in lieu of the almond extract. I suspect you could let your imatination run wild with this delicious base. Although there were several other desserts on the table, this one was "gobbled" (sorry, dumb joke) up by everyone! Thanks so much V.Monte!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I have made this cake twice now and it's a big hit. I used vanilla extract instead of almond and added crushed pecans to the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Bishop Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Everyone loves this dessert! I cut into small squares and placed in paper cup cake lines. It made for a nice presentation and easy to eat on the go at parties. I followed the advice of other reviewers and cut back on the sugar a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADONIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helotes, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I debated between this recipe and one with chocolate chips, so I sprinkled 1/2 cup of chocolate chips over half of the cake. I also used pure almond extract which gave it a wonderful flavor! It was delicious! Everyone loved it for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
Just be warned, these are not like cake; rather more like a bad cookie. That being said, these are SOOO good and easy. I make them every year at Christmas time, and every year I get rants and raves. My only suggestion is to be sure to use pure almond extract, as they aren't the same with the imitation stuff. I've also seen this recipe tailored to regular cookies and I've been itching to try them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
Very sweet but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States