Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Cut the sugar in half and it's perfect. Maybe a fresh lemon juice to the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
this is the best cake i've ever made supposedly. i use vanilla extract, pillsbury yellow cake mix, philly cream cheese, and exactly one box of powdered sugar and it turns out perfectly. make sure you push the dough up on the sides a bit to tell when it's done more easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ketchup_cupcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I tried FOUR different gooey butter cakes and this was the best and the gooiest!!!!! I also tried it with a coconut cake mix ----- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Thank you for posting this recipe! The St. Louis Convention & Visitor's Bureau used to have it on their website, but not any more. This recipe is the best out of all of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was a fantastic recipe. I have always loved Gooey Butter Cake. I didn't realize it was a St. Louis specialty, as I am from that town! I did cut the sugar back to 3 Cups even though I have a huge sweet tooth. But, so many other reviewers were recommending that, so I caved into the peer pressure. I also only needed to cook it for 30 minutes, and it was absolutely perfect. I did add a bit of powdered sugar to the top to make it pretty. Yummy! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Godfrey, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
this cake is too sweet. i will try making this cake again, with half the sugar. i might have overbaked it a little- the top became a hard crust, but it tasted good and added extra texture to the cake. the cake is rather plain beyond the sweetness, though. I poked holes and drizzled strong coffee over it, then chilled the cake. It tasted good, not as sweet and had more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmcelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This is the most common Gooey Butter Cake recipe. In St. Louis and the St. Louis area this is a favorite! The name of cake may be misleading; it is not a dessert cake but more of a coffee cake and can be served for all meals and is even good with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
As the other reviewers stated ...this is more of a cookie bar then cake. I read some of the negative reviews about too much sugar, so I decided to use only one cup of sugar in the topping. That seemed to work well. A unique desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I love this cake! It is so wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Very good but the topping tastecd a little too much like marshmallow for me to be a "5-star".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States