Gooey Butter Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I needed a last minute dessert for church, and had all of the ingredients for this! It was gobbled up. I think next time I may leave it in a bit longer; my oven is usually off, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Clark

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monticello, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
My husband thought this was delicious but I thought it was just good so the 4 stars. It was almost a little to rich for me but if you like that, you will love this. Next time I'll try it with chocolate cake. Brought this to a family gathering and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Tasted delicious, but "gooey" filling was a really thin layer compared to the cake bottom. I think next time I make this, I will double the filling portion of the recipe so as to make a thicker filling layer. Still tasted good as written, but will try doubling up on it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CardsFan4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
My husband really LOVES this! We like it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or cool whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Good cake, but reduce cooking time to 30 min. Bottom got really brown. Family liked taste. Great with coffee or milk. Doubling cream cheese would not hurt, as would reducting fat in cake batter mix to 1 stick butter and 1/4 cup oil maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Wonderful! Made this for coffee hour at church and many compliments/requests for recipe! Only change I made was I used 3/4 c butter and cooked for 30 minutes, take out of oven when still moist. Make sure you grease the pan well, they came out of stoneware beautifully. I used Butter Pecan mix for one pan and Red Velvet mix for the other, both wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quincy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I have made this cake three times now and each time I've had multiple people ask me for the recipe. I take it with copies on hand! This is fantastic served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Sato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Yuuuuuummm. AND oh my gosh is this is ever cheap and easy. Def not a dish to eat if you are watching calories though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Awesome! I made almost exactly as written, except for a bit of milk in the cake layer to make it spread in the pan more easily and baked for approx 42 minutes. I also put some pecan halves on top, but did it too early in the baking process as they were swallowed up as the cake puffed! Oh, well, still tasted delicious. I will make again, maybe try the chocolate version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This cake recipe is also known as "No Frosting Cake". I have made this cake for 20+ yrs. and I have never found anybody that did not like this cake. Please use the cake mix without the pudding in it, makes for a better cake. Baking time varies, I keep an eye on the cake after 40-45 minutes. When top turns a light tan and starts crackling cake it done. Cool completely and sprinkle with powdered sugar. Cut into brownie size pcs. My family requests this cake for their birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States